Pathfinders - Tacoma - 2021

Youth Program

Pathfinders

Year-round adventure for youth age 6-9 and their families!

Info
COVID-19: Learn about our most up-to-date guidance for participants and leaders on our COVID-19 Response page. All participants and leaders must agree to the COVID-19 Code of Conduct before participating in this Mountaineers course.

Please read this description in its entirety before registering.

Note: Pioneers membership is $440 in total for the year. Participants may register here and pay in full, or may contact sarahh@mountaineers.org to set up a quarterly payment plan. 

We offer financial assistance! To apply for financial assistance click here.

Our Pathfinders  program provides youth ages 6-9 and their parents/guardians with the opportunity to get outside once a month. Pathfinders is designed to expose youth to a variety of outdoor activities and have fun! Participants will have the chance to climb, hike, snowshoe, paddle, explore, and learn how to be safe in the outdoors. The group will be supported by Mountaineers staff, but parents will be expected to play an active role in planning, supervising, and possibly even leading some trips. Staff will provide opportunities for parents to advance their own outdoor skills as well as learn key skills for leading kids safely in the outdoors. This program will focus on skill-building for both youth and adults, and on building an outdoor community.

*Note that while  parents/guardians are expected to be active participants in the club, there is plenty of flexibility so that youth can participate in a trip even if a parent/guardian can't make it.

Pathfinders is a club and requires a time commitment and program fee of $440 (which can be paid in quarterly installments). In return, members gain a community of outdoor enthusiasts who enjoy spending time learning skills together. As families grow through our programs, lifelong friendships are built. When graduates of our teen program come home from college, they meet up with other Mountaineers friends to go hiking, backpacking and climbing. This program is just the beginning.

Note: Youth ages 6-9  register as participants, and therefore pay the registration and program fee. Parents should become a Qualified Youth Leader and then register for the Pathfinders program as a  Chaperone (there is no fee for this).

Program Requirements
Program Activity Date Availability Leader
TAC PAT - Activity
Ape Caves & Volcano Viewpoint
Sat, Oct 23, 2021
Registration closes Oct 21
8 participants
Dewey Lake, Naches Peak Loop & Pacific Crest Trail
Sat, Nov 27, 2021
Registration closes Nov 25
11 participants
Paradise
Sun, Dec 19, 2021
Registration closes Dec 17
11 participants
Cabin Creek
Sat, Jan 22, 2022
Registration closes Jan 20
11 participants
Youth Trip
Sat, Feb 26, 2022 -
Sun, Feb 27, 2022
Registration closes Feb 24
11 participants
Wallace Falls
Sat, Mar 26, 2022
Registration closes Mar 24
11 participants
Youth Trip
Sat, Apr 23, 2022
Registration closes Apr 21
11 participants
Vantage (Frenchman Coulee)
Sat, May 28, 2022 -
Sun, May 29, 2022
Registration closes May 26
9 participants
Palouse to Cascades Trail
Sat, Jun 25, 2022
Registration closes Jun 23
11 participants
Youth Trip
Sat, Jul 23, 2022
Registration closes Jul 21
11 participants
Sheep Lake (Chinook Pass)
Sat, Aug 27, 2022 -
Sun, Aug 28, 2022
Registration closes Aug 25
11 participants
TAC PAT Meeting (optional)
Tacoma Program Center
Tue, Nov 9, 2021
Registration closes Nov 7
8 participants
Tacoma Program Center
Tue, Dec 14, 2021
Registration closes Dec 12
8 participants
Tacoma Program Center
Tue, Jan 11, 2022
Registration closes Jan 9
8 participants
Tacoma Program Center
Tue, Feb 15, 2022
Registration closes Feb 13
8 participants
Tacoma Program Center
Tue, Mar 15, 2022
Registration closes Mar 13
8 participants
Tacoma Program Center
Tue, Apr 12, 2022
Registration closes Apr 10
8 participants
Tacoma Program Center
Tue, May 10, 2022
Registration closes May 8
8 participants
Tacoma Program Center
Tue, Jun 14, 2022
Registration closes Jun 12
8 participants
Tacoma Program Center
Tue, Jul 12, 2022
Registration closes Jul 10
8 participants
Tacoma Program Center
Tue, Aug 9, 2022
Registration closes Aug 7
9 participants
Roster
Required Equipment

All required equipment, with a few exceptions, is available to be borrowed from the Mountaineers. Before each trip, an itinerary/packing list will be distributed to the group that details all necessary gear and information for the trip. 

If families want to bring their own gear, here are some items you may find useful for most trips:

Backpack

Hiking boots

Wool socks

Non-cotton active clothing and insulating layers

First Aid Kit

 

Program Materials

There are no materials for this program.