Conditioning Hiking Series - Tacoma - 2023

Day Hiking Course

Conditioning Hiking Series

This course offers you the chance to develop your fitness capabilities while hiking with many of the same people throughout the duration of the course. You will reach new distance and elevation goals and visit some amazing places. Beginning in the spring, the course provides a structure of increasing challenging hikes that are scheduled to develop your abilities and skills.

Click the "MORE" button to read this entire course description before signing up.

CHS Graduates (You have earned a CHS Badge from any Branch) may register for the 2023 course on 01/24/2023 @ 8am.

This course is designed for the hiker who wants to increase their fitness level.  It is also designed to provide a small-group trip environment in which hikers can build friendships by hiking with many of the same people on each trip.  You will also benefit from getting out with a variety of experienced hike leaders who are focused on keeping you safe and helping you learn while you spend the day together in our beautiful mountains.

IMPORTANT NOTE:  To be successful in this course, you will need to be able to hike at least 5 miles with some elevation beginning with your first hike.  You will also need to commit to developing your conditioning throughout the summer as each month, the hikes will become progressively more difficult.

What to Expect: The CHS course consists of a mandatory  Online Virtual classroom session on March 8, 2023 @ 7pm, a minimum of two CHS hikes per month building in mileage and elevation gain from April through August, and a graduation hike in September.  Each participant in the course is also required to earn or hold a current  Stewardship Badge on September 30, 2023 and earn or hold the free Low Impact Recreation Badge.

This is typically a very popular series, and there is usually a long waitlist, so please  be committed to putting in the time and effort to graduate before registering and claiming a spot on the roster.   If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the course leader.

Course Materials: Please review ALL course materials prior to the classroom session.  

Optional:  Fitness for Hiking and Backpacking - Online Classroom. A Zoom session to help you get in shape at home for Hiking & Backpacking on March 29, 2023 from 6:30 PM

Requirements to complete graduation must be completed by September 30, 2023

CANCELLATIONS must be received no later than March 7th to qualify for refund.

Badges you will earn:

Course Requirements
Course Activity Date Availability Leader
CHS Tacoma Classroom Session
Online Classroom
Wed, Mar 8, 2023
Registration closes Mar 5
33 participants
CHS Tacoma April Hikes (optional)
Dash Point State Park
Sun, Apr 2, 2023
Registration opens Mar 15
8 participants
Clark's Creek Park Loop
Sun, Apr 2, 2023
Registration opens Mar 15
7 participants
Mima Falls
Wed, Apr 5, 2023
Registration opens Mar 15
8 participants
Little Si
Fri, Apr 7, 2023
Registration opens Mar 15
7 participants
Middle Tiger Mountain
Sat, Apr 8, 2023
Registration opens Mar 15
8 participants
Snoquera Falls Loop
Sun, Apr 9, 2023
Registration opens Mar 15
7 participants
Rattlesnake Ledge
Wed, Apr 12, 2023
Registration opens Mar 15
7 participants
Hugo Peak & Windy Ridge
Sat, Apr 15, 2023
Registration opens Mar 15
6 participants
Little Si
Sun, Apr 16, 2023
Registration opens Mar 15
7 participants
Snoquera Falls Loop
Sun, Apr 16, 2023
Registration opens Mar 15
6 participants
Clark's Creek Park
Wed, Apr 19, 2023
Registration opens Mar 15
7 participants
Clark's Creek Park
Thu, Apr 20, 2023
Registration opens Mar 15
7 participants
Oxbow Lake Loop
Fri, Apr 21, 2023
Registration opens Mar 15
7 participants
Wallace Falls
Sat, Apr 29, 2023
Registration opens Mar 15
6 participants
CHS Tacoma May Hikes (optional)
Lake 22
Wed, May 10, 2023
Registration opens Apr 15
9 participants
Poo Poo Point via High School Trail
Fri, May 12, 2023
Registration opens Apr 15
6 participants
Lower Lena Lake
Fri, May 12, 2023
Registration opens Apr 15
6 participants
Lower Lena Lake
Sat, May 13, 2023
Registration opens Apr 15
7 participants
Hugo Peak & Windy Ridge
Sat, May 13, 2023
Registration opens Apr 15
5 participants
Pinnacle Peak/South Trail
Sun, May 14, 2023
Registration opens Apr 15
7 participants
Rattlesnake Ledge
Mon, May 15, 2023
Registration opens Apr 15
6 participants
Poo Poo Point via High School Trail
Thu, May 18, 2023
Registration opens Apr 15
7 participants
Squak Mountain: May Valley Access
Sat, May 20, 2023
Registration opens Apr 15
9 participants
Wallace Falls
Sun, May 21, 2023
Registration opens Apr 15
8 participants
Dirty Harry's Balcony
Sun, May 21, 2023
Registration opens Apr 15
6 participants
Hugo Peak
Wed, May 24, 2023
Registration opens Apr 15
7 participants
Snoquera Palisades
Sat, May 27, 2023
Registration opens Apr 15
7 participants
Poo Poo Point via High School Trail
Sun, May 28, 2023
Registration opens Apr 15
7 participants
CHS Tacoma June Hikes (optional)
Pinnacle Peak
Fri, Jun 2, 2023
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
May Valley Loop
Fri, Jun 2, 2023
Registration opens May 15
7 participants
Pinnacle Peak/South Trail
Sat, Jun 3, 2023
Registration opens May 15
5 participants
Poo Poo Point via High School Trail
Sat, Jun 3, 2023
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
Striped Peak
Sun, Jun 4, 2023
Registration opens May 15
7 participants
Lost Valley Loop
Sun, Jun 4, 2023
Registration opens May 15
7 participants
Snow Lake
Wed, Jun 14, 2023
Registration opens May 15
8 participants
Snoquera Palisades
Wed, Jun 14, 2023
Registration opens May 15
7 participants
Grand Ridge Park (Snoqualmie)
Fri, Jun 16, 2023
Registration opens May 15
7 participants
Mildred Point
Sat, Jun 17, 2023
Registration opens May 15
8 participants
Annette Lake
Sun, Jun 18, 2023
Registration opens May 15
7 participants
Snoquera Palisades
Wed, Jun 21, 2023
Registration opens May 15
7 participants
Crystal Lakes (Mount Rainier)
Sat, Jun 24, 2023
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
CHS Tacoma July Hikes (optional)
Sourdough Gap: Chinook Pass to Crystal Lakes
Sat, Jul 1, 2023
Registration opens Jun 15
8 participants
Mount Townsend
Mon, Jul 3, 2023
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Tubal Cain Mine, Buckhorn Lake & Marmot Pass
Thu, Jul 6, 2023
Registration opens Jun 15
5 participants
Mount Townsend
Fri, Jul 7, 2023
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Snoquera Palisades
Sat, Jul 8, 2023
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Crystal Lakes (Mount Rainier)
Sat, Jul 8, 2023
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Palisades Lakes & Brown Peak
Sun, Jul 9, 2023
Registration opens Jun 15
7 participants
Green Lake (Mount Rainier)
Wed, Jul 12, 2023
Registration opens Jun 15
7 participants
Bullion Basin & Bear Gap
Wed, Jul 12, 2023
Registration opens Jun 15
7 participants
Noble Knob & Lost Lake
Sat, Jul 15, 2023
Registration opens Jun 15
8 participants
Owyhigh Lakes
Mon, Jul 17, 2023
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Margaret's Way
Fri, Jul 21, 2023
Registration opens Jun 15
7 participants
Summerland
Sat, Jul 29, 2023
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Summerland & Panhandle Gap
Mon, Jul 31, 2023
Registration opens Jun 15
7 participants
CHS Tacoma August Hikes (optional)
Melakwa Lake
Fri, Aug 4, 2023
Registration opens Jul 15
7 participants
Crystal Peak (Mount Rainier)
Sat, Aug 5, 2023
Registration opens Jul 15
7 participants
Kendall Katwalk
Sun, Aug 6, 2023
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Sheep Lake & Nannie Ridge
Fri, Aug 11, 2023
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Goat Lake
Sat, Aug 12, 2023
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Greenwater, Echo & Lost Lakes
Sat, Aug 12, 2023
Registration opens Jul 15
7 participants
Indian Bar
Sun, Aug 13, 2023
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
Summerland
Wed, Aug 16, 2023
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Around Mother Mountain
Sat, Aug 19, 2023
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Summerland
Tue, Aug 22, 2023
Registration opens Jul 15
7 participants
Greenwater & Echo Lakes
Sat, Aug 26, 2023
Registration opens Jul 15
7 participants
Palisades Lakes
Mon, Aug 28, 2023
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
CHS Tacoma September Graduation Hikes (optional)
Panhandle Gap
Tue, Sep 5, 2023
Registration opens Aug 15
6 participants
Indian Henry's Hunting Ground
Wed, Sep 6, 2023
Registration opens Aug 15
7 participants
Tatoosh Peak
Sat, Sep 9, 2023
Registration opens Aug 15
6 participants
Surprise & Glacier Lakes
Tue, Sep 12, 2023
Registration opens Aug 15
7 participants
Gobblers Knob
Wed, Sep 13, 2023
Registration opens Aug 15
7 participants
Sunrise & Glacier Basin Loop
Sun, Sep 17, 2023
Registration opens Aug 15
7 participants
Laughingwater Creek-Three Lakes
Sat, Sep 23, 2023
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
Glacier Basin & Sunrise Loop
Sat, Sep 23, 2023
Registration opens Aug 15
7 participants
Indian Henry's Hunting Ground
Fri, Sep 29, 2023
Registration opens Aug 15
7 participants
Third Burroughs Mountain
Sat, Sep 30, 2023
Registration opens Aug 15
6 participants

Additional badges needed to graduate

Completed

Roster
Required Equipment

The Ten Essentials

  1. Navigation
  2. Sun protection
  3. Insulation (extra clothing)
  4. Illumination
  5. First aid supplies
  6. Fire
  7. Repair kit and tools, including knife
  8. Nutrition (extra food)
  9. Hydration (extra water)
  10. Emergency shelter