Alpine Scrambling Course - Seattle - 2018

Scrambling Course

Alpine Scrambling Course

The 2018 Seattle Alpine Scrambling course teaches essential techniques of off-trail wilderness travel needed for scaling snow and rock summits.

 The 2018 course is full. You can register for the waitlist, or check out the Compressed Course which covers the same content but in one weekend.

Cancellations before Mar 18 receive a full refund minus a $10 processing fee.  No refunds are given after March 18.

 

The Alpine Scrambling course teaches essential techniques of off-trail wilderness travel needed for scaling snow and rock summits. Alpine scrambling may at times involve unroped movement on and across low or moderately-exposed snow and rock terrain, but does not include roped climbing on high-angle, seriously-exposed technical rock faces, nor does it involve roped travel on crevassed glaciers.

To get an idea of  what scrambling involves, check out these pictures from the 2017 course: https://photos.app.goo.gl/slX2LfBEHqB0T7FO2

The wilderness navigation course is required to be completed before June 1.

Graduating from this course requires the completion of all workshops and fieldtrips listed below, completing 3 scrambles, and earning the low impact recreation, first aid, and stewardship badges. 

Navigation and first aid are separate courses with separate fees.

Badges you will earn:

Course Requirements
Course Activity Date Availability Leader
Gear Night (optional)
Ascent Outdoors
Tue, Feb 20, 2018
Registration closed Feb 18
56 participants
2 instructors
Conditioning Hikes (optional)
West Tiger Mountain No. 3
Wed, Feb 21, 2018
Registration closes Feb 21
4 participants on waitlist
0 instructors
West Tiger Mountain No. 3
Wed, Feb 28, 2018
Registration opens Feb 21; Instructor registration open now
10 participants
1 instructor on waitlist
West Tiger Mountain No. 3
Wed, Mar 7, 2018
Registration opens Feb 28; Instructor registration open now
10 participants
0 instructors
West Tiger Mountain No. 3
Wed, Mar 14, 2018
Registration opens Mar 7; Instructor registration open now
10 participants
0 instructors
West Tiger Mountain No. 3
Tue, Mar 20, 2018
Registration opens Mar 14; Instructor registration open now
10 participants
0 instructors
West Tiger Mountain No. 3
Wed, Apr 4, 2018
Registration opens Mar 28; Instructor registration open now
10 participants
1 instructor
West Tiger Mountain No. 3 Cable Line
Wed, Apr 11, 2018
Registration opens Apr 4; Instructor registration open now
10 participants
0 instructors
West Tiger Mountain No. 3 Cable Line
Wed, Apr 18, 2018
Registration opens Apr 11; Instructor registration open now
10 participants
1 instructor
West Tiger Mountain No. 3 Cable Line
Wed, Apr 25, 2018
Registration opens Apr 18; Instructor registration open now
10 participants
1 instructor
Tiger Mountain Field Trip
West Tiger Mountain No. 1
Sat, Mar 3, 2018
Registration closes Feb 28
5 participants
0 instructors
West Tiger Mountain No. 1
Sun, Mar 4, 2018
Registration closes Feb 28
23 participants
1 instructor
West Tiger Mountain No. 1
Sat, Mar 10, 2018
Registration closes Mar 7
1 participant on waitlist
0 instructors
West Tiger Mountain No. 1
Sun, Mar 11, 2018
Registration closes Mar 7
13 participants
2 instructors
Snow Workshop
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Mar 28, 2018
Registration closes Mar 26
0 participants
2 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Mon, Apr 2, 2018
Registration closes Mar 31
44 participants
3 instructors
Snow Field Trip
Stevens Pass Ski Area
Sat, Apr 21, 2018
Registration closes Apr 19
3 participants
4 instructors
Stevens Pass Ski Area
Sun, Apr 22, 2018
Registration closes Apr 26
45 participants
3 instructors
Outdoor Rock Workshop
Seattle Program Center
Tue, May 1, 2018
Registration closes Mar 26
2 participants on waitlist
3 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Tue, May 8, 2018
Registration closes Mar 31
17 participants
8 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Thu, May 10, 2018
Registration closes May 8
24 participants
11 instructors
Rock Field Trip
Mount Erie
Sat, May 12, 2018
Registration closes May 10
3 participants on waitlist
0 instructors
Mount Erie
Sun, May 13, 2018
Registration closes May 11
8 participants
0 instructors
Mount Erie
Sat, May 19, 2018
Registration closes May 17
3 participants
1 instructor
Mount Erie
Sun, May 20, 2018
Registration closes May 18
31 participants
2 instructors
Experience Field Trip
Bean Creek Basin
Sat, Jun 2, 2018
Registration closes May 31
2 participants on waitlist
9 instructors on waitlist
Bean Creek Basin
Sun, Jun 3, 2018
Registration closes May 31
50 participants
2 instructors on waitlist
Scrambling Course Graduation Party (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Mon, Nov 12, 2018
Registration opens Jun 1
149 participants
Roster
Required Equipment

See the course handbook under "Course Materials"

Course Materials
Name/Description Type
Alpine Scramble Course Graduation Application

Alpine Scramble Course Graduation Application

Link
Course Handbook

2018 Scramble Course Handbook

File application/x-maker File