Washington State's New List of Free Days in 2022

Washington State opts to honor Indigenous people, Black history, and mental health in 2022 with free days at state-managed lands.
Gabrielle Orsi Gabrielle Orsi
Foothills Branch Leader & Super Volunteer
November 19, 2021

Many people choose to "opt outside" (#OptOutside) on the Friday after Thanksgiving, and this year you can opt outside at no cost thanks to a free day with Washington State Parks and other lands covered by the Discover Pass.

Already got plans for November 26? Mark your calendar for the other the free days in 2022! Washington State Parks, Washington Department of Natural Resources (DNR), and Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) have announced they will honor Indigenous people, Black history, and mental health with their new selection of free days.

In 2022, the Discover Pass free days will be: 

  • Saturday, Jan. 1 – New Year’s Day
  • Monday, Jan. 17 – Martin Luther King Day
  • Wednesday, March 9 - Billy Frank Jr.’s birthday 
  • Saturday, March 19 – Washington State Parks’ birthday
  • Friday, April 22 – Earth Day
  • Saturday, June 11 – National Get Outdoors Day
  • Sunday, June 12 – Free Fishing Weekend
  • Sunday, June 19 - Juneteenth 
  • Saturday, Sept. 24 – National Public Lands Day
  • Monday, Oct. 10 – World Mental Health Day
  • Friday, Nov. 11 – Veterans Day
  • Friday, Nov. 25 – Native American Heritage Day

The Discover Pass is an annual pass that provides access to state parks for day trips. It also provides overnight access to DNR and WDFW lands. For the days where you need one, you can purchase a Discover Pass at our Seattle Bookstore or online.

Tags: ,

Add a comment

Log in to add comments.