Olympia Annual Banquet Recap 2017

The Olympia Branch celebrated another great year of adventure and service at our Annual Banquet. We honored volunteers, leaders, and award winners and enjoyed guest speaker Vik Sahney's presentation.
Dee Ann Kline Parkinson Dee Ann Kline Parkinson
Olympia Branch Super Volunteer
November 28, 2017
Olympia Annual Banquet Recap 2017

The 2017 Annual Awards Banquet was attended by 130 Mountaineers and guests including Becca Polglase, Andy Bassett, and Jeff Bowman from The Mountaineers staff. Speaker Vik Sahney discussed the intersection of career and personal passions, sharing how he was able to move into a career with REI that mirrored his zeal for outdoor adventure and his personal values regarding sustainability and environmentalism.

Council Chair Siana Wong emceed the event and recognized Olympia course chairs, leaders, volunteers, and 58 Super Volunteers (those with 15 or more leadership activities in 2017). She also acknowledged those who have been members for 20 or more years.

During the last 12 months, Olympia Mountaineers leaders completed 569 trips. That's an average of 47 trips/month!

In that same time period, 71 new leader badges were earned in Kayak, Stewardship, Hiking, Snowshoe, Climbing, Backpacking, Scrambling, and Ski/Snowboard. Additionally, 11 leaders became Qualified Youth Leaders.

The 2017 awards winners were recognized for their contributions to activities and leadership within the club.

Tom Eckhout was the recipient of the Branch Service Award.  Tom’s service with The Mountaineers extends more than 30 years. He was active in the Seattle Branch before moving to Olympia approximately ten years ago. In addition to serving as Course Chairman of Winter Travel and Scrambling, Tom is a MOFA instructor and has volunteered on ten different committees. He has received the Super Volunteer award every year since the award was initiated in 2014.

TomClimb.jpgTom Eckhout received the Branch Service Award.

The Olympia Branch also honored Keith Arnorld, Meg Hunt, and Jennifer Fortin for their leadership and dedication in stewardship and conservation.

Keith ArnoldORg.jpgJim French presents Keith Arnold with The Frank
Maranville Memorial Stewardship Award.

Crew Leader Org.jpgJim French and Kathy Fox (not pictured) presented the Crew
Leader Awards to both Meg Hunt and Jennifer Fortin.