Conditioning Hiking Series - Tacoma - 2021

Day Hiking Course

Conditioning Hiking Series

This course offers you the chance to develop your fitness capabilities while hiking with many of the same people throughout the duration of the course. You will reach new distance and elevation goals and visit some amazing places. Beginning in the spring, the course provides a structure of increasing challenging hikes that are scheduled to develop your abilities and skills.

Info
COVID-19: Learn about our most up-to-date guidance for participants and leaders on our COVID-19 Response page. All participants and leaders must agree to the COVID-19 Code of Conduct before participating in this Mountaineers course.

This course is designed for the new or experienced hiker who wants to increase their fitness level.  It is also designed to provide a small-group trip environment in which hikers can build friendships by hiking with many of the same people on each trip.  You will also benefit from getting out with a variety of experienced hike leaders who are focused on keeping you safe and helping you learn while you spend the day together in our beautiful mountains.

IMPORTANT NOTE:  To be successful in this course, you will need to be able to walk/hike at least 5 miles with some elevation beginning with your first hike.  You will also need to commit to developing your conditioning throughout the summer as each month, the hikes will become progressively more difficult.

What to Expect: The CHS course consists of a mandatory  Online Virtual classroom session on March 8, 2021 @ 6:30pm, a minimum of two CHS hikes per month building in mileage and elevation gain from April through August, and a graduation hike in September.  Each participant in the course is also required to do one day of Stewardship in order to graduate as well as earn their free Low Impact Recreation Badge.

Course Materials: Please review ALL course materials prior to the classroom session.  

Optional: Fitness for Hiking and Backpacking - Online Classroom. A Zoom session to help you get in shape at home for Hiking & Backpacking on March 18, 2021 @ 6:30pm

Course badges will be awarded to those who complete the  Online Virtual  classroom session, ten CHS day hikes (two per month, April-August), one CHS graduation hike in September, one day of Stewardship and earn their Low Impact Recreation Badge. 

You must be  a current member of The Mountaineers to register for this course.

CANCELLATIONS must be received no later than April 1 to qualify for refund.

Badges you will earn:

Course Requirements
Course Activity Date Availability Leader
CHS Tacoma Classroom Session
Tacoma Program Center
Mon, Mar 8, 2021
Registration opens Jan 15; Instructor registration open now
50 participants
2 instructors
CHS Tacoma April Hikes (optional)
Little Mashel Falls
Sat, Apr 3, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
6 participants
Swan Creek Canyon
Sun, Apr 4, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
8 participants
Carbon River Road & Old Mine Trail
Sun, Apr 4, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
6 participants
Little Si
Wed, Apr 7, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
7 participants
Little Mashel Falls
Sat, Apr 10, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
6 participants
Green Mountain: Gold Creek Trail
Sat, Apr 10, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
6 participants
Point Defiance Park
Sun, Apr 11, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
8 participants
Cougar Mountain: Red Town Trailhead
Sun, Apr 11, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
6 participants
Mima Falls
Wed, Apr 14, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
8 participants
Clark's Creek Park Loop
Thu, Apr 15, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
6 participants
Little Si
Sat, Apr 17, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
7 participants
Greenwater Lakes
Sat, Apr 17, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
6 participants
Little Si
Sun, Apr 18, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
9 participants
Point Defiance Park
Sun, Apr 18, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
6 participants
Noble Knob via Corral Pass
Sat, Apr 24, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
6 participants
Mount Erie
Sat, Apr 24, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
7 participants
Little Si
Sun, Apr 25, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
9 participants
Dirty Harry's Balcony
Sun, Apr 25, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
6 participants
Snoquera Falls Loop
Wed, Apr 28, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
8 participants
CHS Tacoma May Hikes (optional)
Lost Valley Loop
Sat, May 1, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
6 participants
Lena Lake
Sat, May 1, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
6 participants
Point Defiance Park
Sun, May 2, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
8 participants
Margaret's Way
Sun, May 2, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
7 participants
Snoquera Falls Loop
Sat, May 8, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
6 participants
Lena Lake
Sat, May 8, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
7 participants
Margaret's Way
Sun, May 9, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
9 participants
Green Mountain: Gold Creek Trail
Wed, May 12, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
9 participants
Kamikaze (Teneriffe) Falls
Sat, May 15, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
6 participants
Talus Loop
Sun, May 16, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
7 participants
Twin Lakes (Wenatchee)
Sun, May 16, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
6 participants
Rampart Ridge Loop
Sat, May 22, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
6 participants
Jug Lake
Sat, May 22, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
6 participants
Margaret's Way
Sun, May 23, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
8 participants
Wallace Falls
Sun, May 23, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
6 participants
Summit Lake
Wed, May 26, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
9 participants
Talus Loop
Sat, May 29, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
9 participants
Lake 22
Sun, May 30, 2021
Registration opens Apr 15
6 participants
CHS Stewardship/Conservation Requirement (optional)
Swan Creek Canyon
Sat, May 22, 2021
Registration opens Mar 15
6 participants
Kelly Butte
Sat, Jul 31, 2021
Registration opens May 15
10 participants
Sun Top Lookout
Sat, Aug 14, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
10 participants
CHS Tacoma June Hikes (optional)
Jug Lake
Sat, Jun 5, 2021
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
Ira Spring Trail
Sun, Jun 6, 2021
Registration opens May 15
8 participants
Tubal Cain Mine
Wed, Jun 9, 2021
Registration opens May 15
9 participants
Annette Lake
Sat, Jun 12, 2021
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
Big Creek Loop
Sat, Jun 12, 2021
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
Poo Poo Point
Sun, Jun 13, 2021
Registration opens May 15
9 participants
Snow Lake (Snoqualmie)
Sun, Jun 13, 2021
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
Glacier Basin (Mount Rainier)
Sat, Jun 19, 2021
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
Annette Lake
Sat, Jun 19, 2021
Registration opens May 15
7 participants
Poo Poo Point
Sun, Jun 20, 2021
Registration opens May 15
9 participants
Eunice Lake & Tolmie Peak Lookout
Sun, Jun 20, 2021
Registration opens May 15
9 participants
Owyhigh Lakes
Wed, Jun 23, 2021
Registration opens May 15
8 participants
Grand Valley & Moose Lake
Sat, Jun 26, 2021
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
Green Lake (Mount Rainier)
Sat, Jun 26, 2021
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
Glacier Basin (Mount Rainier)
Sun, Jun 27, 2021
Registration opens May 15
7 participants
Snoquera Palisades
Sun, Jun 27, 2021
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
CHS Tacoma July Hikes (optional)
Palisades Lakes
Thu, Jul 8, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Owyhigh Lakes
Sat, Jul 10, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Tubal Cain Mine
Sun, Jul 11, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
9 participants
Sheep Lake & Nannie Ridge
Wed, Jul 14, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Beckler Peak
Fri, Jul 16, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
7 participants
Duckabush River
Sat, Jul 17, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Grand Park (Mount Rainier)
Sat, Jul 17, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Summerland
Sun, Jul 18, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Skyscraper Mountain
Sun, Jul 18, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
9 participants
DeRoux Creek-Gallagher Head Lake
Sat, Jul 24, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Yellow Aster Butte
Sat, Jul 24, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
8 participants
Lake Serene
Sun, Jul 25, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Scott Paul Trail & Park Butte
Sun, Jul 25, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
9 participants
Norse Peak
Sat, Jul 31, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
CHS Tacoma August Hikes (optional)
Snow & Gem Lakes (Snoqualmie)
Sun, Aug 1, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
Talapus Lake to Mason Lake and Ira Spring Trail
Fri, Aug 6, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
7 participants
Spray Park
Sat, Aug 7, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Crystal Peak (Mount Rainier)
Sun, Aug 8, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
Pacific Crest Trail: Snoqualmie Pass to Windy Pass
Sun, Aug 8, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Peggy's Pond
Fri, Aug 13, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Snow & Gem Lakes (Snoqualmie)
Sun, Aug 15, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
9 participants
Tubal Cain Mine, Buckhorn Lake & Marmot Pass
Sat, Aug 21, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Skyscraper Mountain
Sun, Aug 22, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Shriner Peak
Sat, Aug 28, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Granite Mountain Trail
Sun, Aug 29, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
9 participants
Palisades Lakes & Brown Peak
Sun, Aug 29, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
CHS Tacoma September Graduation Hikes (optional)
Goat Lake
Sun, Sep 5, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
7 participants
Third Burroughs Mountain
Sat, Sep 11, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
Coldwater Peak
Sat, Sep 11, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
6 participants
Duckabush River
Sun, Sep 12, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
9 participants
Marmot Pass
Sun, Sep 12, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
Summerland
Sat, Sep 18, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
6 participants
Marmot Pass
Sat, Sep 18, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
6 participants
Gobblers Knob
Sun, Sep 19, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
6 participants
Tuck & Robin Lakes
Sat, Sep 25, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
6 participants
Kendall Katwalk
Sun, Sep 26, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
9 participants

Additional badges needed to graduate

Completed

Roster
Required Equipment

The Ten Essentials

  1. Navigation
  2. Sun protection
  3. Insulation (extra clothing)
  4. Illumination
  5. First aid supplies
  6. Fire
  7. Repair kit and tools, including knife
  8. Nutrition (extra food)
  9. Hydration (extra water)
  10. Emergency shelter