Conditioning Hiking Series - Tacoma - 2021

Day Hiking Course

Conditioning Hiking Series

This course offers you the chance to develop your fitness capabilities while hiking with many of the same people throughout the duration of the course. You will reach new distance and elevation goals and visit some amazing places. Beginning in the spring, the course provides a structure of increasing challenging hikes that are scheduled to develop your abilities and skills.

Info
COVID-19: Learn about our most up-to-date guidance for participants and leaders on our COVID-19 Response page. All participants and leaders must agree to the COVID-19 Code of Conduct before participating in this Mountaineers course.

This course is designed for the new or experienced hiker who wants to increase their fitness level.  It is also designed to provide a small-group trip environment in which hikers can build friendships by hiking with many of the same people on each trip.  You will also benefit from getting out with a variety of experienced hike leaders who are focused on keeping you safe and helping you learn while you spend the day together in our beautiful mountains.

IMPORTANT NOTE:  To be successful in this course, you will need to be able to walk/hike at least 5 miles with some elevation beginning with your first hike.  You will also need to commit to developing your conditioning throughout the summer as each month, the hikes will become progressively more difficult.

What to Expect: The CHS course consists of a mandatory  Online Virtual classroom session on March 8, 2021 @ 6:30pm, a minimum of two CHS hikes per month building in mileage and elevation gain from April through August, and a graduation hike in September.  Each participant in the course is also required to do one day of Stewardship in order to graduate as well as earn their free Low Impact Recreation Badge.

Course Materials: Please review ALL course materials prior to the classroom session.  

Optional: Fitness for Hiking and Backpacking - Online Classroom. A Zoom session to help you get in shape at home for Hiking & Backpacking on March 18, 2021 @ 6:30pm

Course badges will be awarded to those who complete the  Online Virtual  classroom session, ten CHS day hikes (two per month, April-August), one CHS graduation hike in September, one day of Stewardship and earn their Low Impact Recreation Badge. 

You must be  a current member of The Mountaineers to register for this course.

CANCELLATIONS must be received no later than April 1 to qualify for refund.

Badges you will earn:

Course Requirements
Course Activity Date Availability Leader
CHS Stewardship/Conservation Requirement (optional)
Swan Creek Canyon
Sat, May 22, 2021
Registration closes May 21
3 participants
Point Defiance Park
Sat, Jun 5, 2021
Registration opens May 15
11 participants
Kelly Butte
Sat, Jul 31, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
10 participants
Sun Top Lookout
Sat, Aug 14, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
10 participants
CHS Tacoma May Hikes (optional)
Summit Lake
Wed, May 26, 2021
Registration closes May 24
4 participants on waitlist
Talus Loop
Sat, May 29, 2021
Registration closes May 27
0 participants
Lake 22
Sun, May 30, 2021
Registration closes May 28
2 participants
Jug Lake
Sun, May 30, 2021
Registration closes May 27
0 participants
CHS Tacoma June Hikes (optional)
Snow Lake (Snoqualmie)
Wed, Jun 2, 2021
Registration opens May 15
9 participants
Jug Lake
Sat, Jun 5, 2021
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
Tubal Cain Mine
Wed, Jun 9, 2021
Registration opens May 15; Instructor registration open now
8 participants
0 instructors
Annette Lake
Sat, Jun 12, 2021
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
Big Creek Loop
Sat, Jun 12, 2021
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
Poo Poo Point via Chirico Trail
Sun, Jun 13, 2021
Registration opens May 15; Instructor registration open now
8 participants
1 instructor
Grand Valley & Moose Lake
Sun, Jun 13, 2021
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
Glacier Basin (Mount Rainier)
Sat, Jun 19, 2021
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
Annette Lake
Sat, Jun 19, 2021
Registration opens May 15
7 participants
Poo Poo Point via High School Trail
Sun, Jun 20, 2021
Registration opens May 15
7 participants
Eunice Lake & Tolmie Peak Lookout
Sun, Jun 20, 2021
Registration opens May 15
8 participants
Owyhigh Lakes
Wed, Jun 23, 2021
Registration opens May 15
8 participants
Ira Spring Trail
Sat, Jun 26, 2021
Registration opens May 15
7 participants
Green Lake (Mount Rainier)
Sat, Jun 26, 2021
Registration opens May 15
8 participants
Glacier Basin (Mount Rainier)
Sun, Jun 27, 2021
Registration opens May 15
7 participants
Snoquera Palisades
Sun, Jun 27, 2021
Registration opens May 15
6 participants
CHS Tacoma July Hikes (optional)
Palisades Lakes
Thu, Jul 8, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Owyhigh Lakes
Sat, Jul 10, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
8 participants
Tubal Cain Mine
Sun, Jul 11, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
8 participants
Sheep Lake & Nannie Ridge
Wed, Jul 14, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Beckler Peak
Fri, Jul 16, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
7 participants
Duckabush River
Sat, Jul 17, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Grand Park (Mount Rainier)
Sat, Jul 17, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Summerland
Sun, Jul 18, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Skyscraper Mountain
Sun, Jul 18, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
9 participants
Granite Creek Trail
Fri, Jul 23, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
8 participants
DeRoux Creek-Gallagher Head Lake
Sat, Jul 24, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Lake Serene
Sun, Jul 25, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
Scott Paul Trail & Park Butte
Sun, Jul 25, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
9 participants
Norse Peak
Sat, Jul 31, 2021
Registration opens Jun 15
6 participants
CHS Tacoma August Hikes (optional)
Snow & Gem Lakes (Snoqualmie)
Sun, Aug 1, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
Talapus Lake to Mason Lake and Ira Spring Trail
Fri, Aug 6, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
7 participants
Spray Park
Sat, Aug 7, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Crystal Peak (Mount Rainier)
Sun, Aug 8, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
Pacific Crest Trail: Snoqualmie Pass to Windy Pass
Sun, Aug 8, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
0 instructors
Peggy's Pond
Fri, Aug 13, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Snow & Gem Lakes (Snoqualmie)
Sun, Aug 15, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
9 participants
Tubal Cain Mine, Buckhorn Lake & Marmot Pass
Sat, Aug 21, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Skyscraper Mountain
Sun, Aug 22, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Shriner Peak
Sat, Aug 28, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
Granite Mountain Trail
Sun, Aug 29, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
9 participants
Palisades Lakes & Brown Peak
Sun, Aug 29, 2021
Registration opens Jul 15
6 participants
CHS Tacoma September Graduation Hikes (optional)
Goat Lake
Sun, Sep 5, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
6 participants
Third Burroughs Mountain
Sat, Sep 11, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
Coldwater Peak
Sat, Sep 11, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
6 participants
Duckabush River
Sun, Sep 12, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
9 participants
Marmot Pass
Sun, Sep 12, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
Summerland
Sat, Sep 18, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
6 participants
Marmot Pass
Sat, Sep 18, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
Gobblers Knob
Sun, Sep 19, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
6 participants
Tuck & Robin Lakes
Sat, Sep 25, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
6 participants
Kendall Katwalk
Sun, Sep 26, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
9 participants
Quartz Creek & Blethen Lake
Sun, Sep 26, 2021
Registration opens Aug 15
7 participants

Additional badges needed to graduate

Completed

Roster
Required Equipment

The Ten Essentials

  1. Navigation
  2. Sun protection
  3. Insulation (extra clothing)
  4. Illumination
  5. First aid supplies
  6. Fire
  7. Repair kit and tools, including knife
  8. Nutrition (extra food)
  9. Hydration (extra water)
  10. Emergency shelter