Conditioning Hiking Series - Tacoma - 2020

Day Hiking Course

Conditioning Hiking Series

This course offers you the chance to develop your fitness capabilities while hiking with many of the same people throughout the duration of the course. You will reach new distance and elevation goals and visit some amazing places. Beginning in the spring, the course provides a structure of increasing challenging hikes that are scheduled to develop your abilities and skills.

*COVID-19 UPDATE: THIS COURSE IS NOT CURRENTLY CANCELED. PLEASE INQUIRE WITH THE COURSE LEADER FOR FURTHER UPDATES. UNTIL COURSE ACTIVITIES START, IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO CANCEL YOUR PARTICIPATION DUE TO COVID-19 CONCERNS, CONTACT INFO@MOUNTAINEERS.ORG FOR A FULL REFUND*

 

This course is designed for the new or experienced hiker who wants to increase their fitness level.  It is also designed to provide a small-group trip environment in which hikers can build friendships by hiking with many of the same people on each trip.  You will also benefit from getting out with a variety of experienced hike leaders who are focused on keeping you safe and helping you learn while you spend the day together in our beautiful mountains.

IMPORTANT NOTE:  To be successful in this course, you will need to be able to walk/hike at least 5 miles with some elevation beginning with your first hike.  You will also need to commit to developing your conditioning throughout the summer as each month, the hikes will become progressively more difficult.

What to Expect: The CHS course consists of a mandatory  Online Virtual classroom session on April 20, 2020 @ 6:30pm, a minimum of two CHS hikes per month building in mileage and elevation gain from May through September, and a graduation hike in October.  Each participant in the course is also required to do one day of Stewardship in order to graduate as well as earn their free Low Impact Recreation Badge.

Course badges will be awarded to those who complete the  Online Virtual  classroom session, ten CHS day hikes (two per month, May-September), one CHS graduation hike in October, one day of Stewardship and earn their Low Impact Recreation Badge. 

You must be  a current member of The Mountaineers to register for this course.

Badges you will earn:

Course Requirements
Course Activity Date Availability Leader
CHS Tacoma June Hikes (optional)
Green Mountain: Gold Creek Trail
Sun, Jun 7, 2020
Registration closes Jun 5
1 participant on waitlist
Lake 22
Sun, Jun 7, 2020
Registration closes Jun 5
2 participants
Rampart Ridge Loop
Sun, Jun 7, 2020
Registration closes Jun 5
3 participants
Margaret Lake
Wed, Jun 10, 2020
Registration closes Jun 8
2 participants on waitlist
Glacier Basin (Mount Rainier)
Fri, Jun 12, 2020
Registration closes Jun 10
0 participants
Oyster Dome
Sat, Jun 13, 2020
Registration closes Jun 11
2 participants
Annette Lake
Sat, Jun 13, 2020
Registration closes Jun 11
0 participants
Snoquera Falls Loop
Sun, Jun 14, 2020
Registration closes Jun 12
1 participant
Rampart Ridge Loop
Sun, Jun 14, 2020
Registration closes Jun 12
1 participant on waitlist
Margaret's Way
Fri, Jun 19, 2020
Registration closes Jun 17
3 participants
Sourdough Gap
Sat, Jun 20, 2020
Registration closes Jun 18
0 participants
Sourdough Gap
Sun, Jun 21, 2020
Registration closes Jun 19
2 participants
Summit Lake
Wed, Jun 24, 2020
Registration closes Jun 22
1 participant
Margaret Lake
Sat, Jun 27, 2020
Registration closes Jun 25
0 participants
Mount Fremont Lookout
Sat, Jun 27, 2020
Registration closes Jun 25
2 participants on waitlist
Lost Valley Loop
Sun, Jun 28, 2020
Registration closes Jun 26
3 participants
CHS Tacoma July Hikes (optional)
West Tiger Mountain No. 3
Fri, Jul 3, 2020
Registration opens Jun 15
8 participants
Eunice Lake & Tolmie Peak Lookout
Sat, Jul 4, 2020
Registration opens Jun 15
8 participants
Bearhead Mountain
Wed, Jul 8, 2020
Registration opens Jun 15
9 participants
Eunice Lake & Tolmie Peak Lookout
Fri, Jul 10, 2020
Registration opens Jun 15
8 participants
Dewey Lake via Naches Peak Loop
Sat, Jul 11, 2020
Registration opens Jun 15
8 participants
Comet Falls & Van Trump Park
Sun, Jul 12, 2020
Registration opens Jun 15
8 participants
Grand Park
Wed, Jul 15, 2020
Registration opens Jun 15
8 participants
Palisades Lakes (Mount Rainier)
Fri, Jul 17, 2020
Registration opens Jun 15
8 participants
Comet Falls & Van Trump Park
Sat, Jul 18, 2020
Registration opens Jun 15
8 participants
Crystal Lakes (Mount Rainier)
Sun, Jul 19, 2020
Registration opens Jun 15
9 participants
Lake Serene
Sat, Jul 25, 2020
Registration opens Jun 15
9 participants
Ira Spring Trail
Sun, Jul 26, 2020
Registration opens Jun 15
8 participants
CHS Tacoma August Hikes (optional)
Spray Park
Sat, Aug 1, 2020
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
Sheep Lake & Nannie Ridge
Sat, Aug 1, 2020
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
Skyscraper Mountain
Sun, Aug 2, 2020
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
Snowgrass Flat
Sun, Aug 2, 2020
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
Ingalls Lake
Sun, Aug 9, 2020
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
Tubal Cain Mine
Fri, Aug 14, 2020
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
Lake Ingalls
Sat, Aug 15, 2020
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
Berkeley Park
Sun, Aug 16, 2020
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
Skyscraper Pass & Skyscraper Mountain
Sat, Aug 29, 2020
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
Greenwater & Lost Lakes
Sun, Aug 30, 2020
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
Palisades Lakes & Brown Peak
Sun, Aug 30, 2020
Registration opens Jul 15
8 participants
CHS Tacoma September Hikes (optional)
Green Lake (Mount Rainier)
Fri, Sep 4, 2020
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
Duckabush River
Mon, Sep 7, 2020
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
Rachel & Rampart Lakes
Sat, Sep 12, 2020
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
Summerland
Sat, Sep 12, 2020
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
Granite Lakes via Granite Creek
Sun, Sep 13, 2020
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
South Coldwater Ridge & Lakes Trail Loop
Sun, Sep 13, 2020
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
Sheep Lake & Nannie Ridge
Sat, Sep 19, 2020
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
Third Burroughs Mountain
Sat, Sep 19, 2020
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
Norse Peak
Sat, Sep 26, 2020
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
Colchuck Lake
Sat, Sep 26, 2020
Registration opens Aug 15
6 participants
Shriner Peak
Sun, Sep 27, 2020
Registration opens Aug 15
8 participants
CHS Tacoma October Graduation Hikes (optional)
Rachel & Rampart Lakes
Fri, Oct 2, 2020
Registration opens Sep 15
8 participants
Indian Henry's Hunting Ground
Sat, Oct 3, 2020
Registration opens Sep 15
8 participants
Ingalls Lake
Sat, Oct 3, 2020
Registration opens Sep 15
8 participants
Navaho Pass
Sat, Oct 10, 2020
Registration opens Sep 15
8 participants
Kendall Katwalk
Sun, Oct 11, 2020
Registration opens Sep 15
8 participants
Mount Fremont & Skyscraper Mountain
Sat, Oct 17, 2020
Registration opens Sep 15
8 participants
Cutthroat Lake & Pass
Sat, Oct 24, 2020
Registration opens Sep 15
8 participants
Pratt Lake Trail
Sat, Oct 31, 2020
Registration opens Sep 15
8 participants

Additional badges needed to graduate

Completed

Roster
Required Equipment

The Ten Essentials

  1. Navigation
  2. Sun protection
  3. Insulation (extra clothing)
  4. Illumination
  5. First aid supplies
  6. Fire
  7. Repair kit and tools, including knife
  8. Nutrition (extra food)
  9. Hydration (extra water)
  10. Emergency shelter