Mini Mountaineers - Tacoma - 2021

Youth Program

Mini Mountaineers

The Mini Mountaineers is a community of families exploring together to inspire a love for the outdoors in the future stewards of our planet. Join your little one for nature-based activities and meet other families who love the outdoors!

Info
COVID-19: Learn about our most up-to-date guidance for participants and leaders on our COVID-19 Response page. All participants and leaders must agree to the COVID-19 Code of Conduct before participating in this Mountaineers course.

ABOUT MINI MOUNTAINEERS

Mini Mountaineers is designed to get kids ages 2-5 and an accompanying adult interacting with nature together, fostering the next generation of environmental stewards. Parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, babysitters, friends...let us do the planning to get you and your little one outside together with fellow outdoor-loving families!

Variety of Activities

Mini Mountaineers hosts 2 activities per month:

  • A weekend nature hike at Pt. Defiance, where we listen for birds, splash in a creek, play in the sand, look for bugs,...and enjoy being surrounded by nature! 
  • An adventure activity, such as climbing night at the Program Center climbing wall, short hikes in the mountains, snowshoe outings, and more! All activities will be planned with little legs in mind! Friday nights or weekends.

REGISTRATION

Enrolling in this course allows you to register for any Mini Mountaineers events. There is no cost or obligation for the individual activities. You must, however, have a Family Membership or Guest Family Membership and complete the Family Programs Activity Form on your youth's profile in order to enroll.

Please register the youth participant(s) and adult chaperone(s) separately.

Program Requirements
Program Activity Date Availability Leader
Nature Walk (optional)
Point Defiance Park
Sun, Nov 7, 2021
Registration closes Nov 5
3 participants
0 chaperones
Point Defiance Park
Sun, Dec 5, 2021
Registration closes Dec 3
2 participants
0 chaperones
Point Defiance Park
Sun, Jan 2, 2022
Registration closes Dec 31
6 participants
Point Defiance Park
Sun, Feb 6, 2022
Registration closes Feb 4
6 participants
Point Defiance Park
Sun, Mar 6, 2022
Registration closes Mar 4
6 participants
Point Defiance Park
Sun, Apr 3, 2022
Registration closes Apr 1
6 participants
Point Defiance Park
Sun, May 1, 2022
Registration closes Apr 29
6 participants
Point Defiance Park
Sun, Jun 5, 2022
Registration closes Jun 3
6 participants
Point Defiance Park
Sun, Jul 3, 2022
Registration closes Jul 1
7 participants
Point Defiance Park
Sun, Aug 7, 2022
Registration closes Aug 5
9 participants
Adventure Activity (optional)
Youth Trip
Sat, Nov 20, 2021
Registration closes Nov 18
6 participants
Paradise
Sat, Dec 18, 2021
Registration closes Dec 16
6 participants
Hyak Lake
Sat, Jan 15, 2022
Registration closes Jan 13
6 participants
Tacoma Program Center
Sat, Feb 19, 2022
Registration closes Feb 17
14 participants
Mima Mounds
Sat, Mar 19, 2022
Registration closes Mar 17
6 participants
Swan Creek Park
Sat, Apr 16, 2022
Registration closes Apr 14
6 participants
Titlow Park
Sat, May 21, 2022
Registration closes May 19
8 participants
Shady Lane & Staircase Rapids
Sat, Jun 18, 2022
Registration closes Jun 16
7 participants
Irish Cabin Property
Sat, Jul 16, 2022 -
Sun, Jul 17, 2022
Registration closes Jul 14
8 participants
Franklin Falls
Sat, Aug 20, 2022
Registration closes Aug 18
8 participants
Roster
Program Materials

You must register for this program to see program materials.