Mountaineers Adventure Club - Seattle - 2020/2021

Youth Program

Mountaineers Adventure Club

10/1/20 Registration Update: MAC is full with a waitlist. The next enrollment window will be in September '21. See the MAC calendar, link below, to find a link to the September '21 new member meeting and RSVP if you're interested.

Info
COVID-19: Learn about our most up-to-date guidance for participants and leaders on our COVID-19 Response page. All participants and leaders must agree to the COVID-19 Code of Conduct before participating in this Mountaineers course.

MAC Navigation Skills Lesson from 12/9 General Meeting

MAC Calendar

MAC Contact List

How to Register for Trips Tutorial Video

We offer scholarships! To apply for assistance from our scholarship funds, click here.

Note: MAC membership is $1,750  annually for students joining in the fall. Students joining in the winter will be prorated. Members will have the option of paying up front or paying the annual fee in a series of installments. This is an annual club.

To join, members must pay the 1st of 4 installments (non-refundable) by October 31. They do so by using this website page to register. Be aware that the price displayed on this page is the price of the 1st installment and that the program costs $1,750. Interested members will have the opportunity to join in on at least one meeting and trip before paying and committing.

The Mountaineers is proud to host an Adventure Club in Seattle and Tacoma. The Adventure Club is a year-round outdoor adventure program for youth of ages 14-18. Currently youth from more than 15 high schools - from Bellingham to Issaquah and West Seattle to Tacoma - make up our Seattle and Tacoma Clubs. Members meet monthly to plan outings and learn skills needed to participate.

The youth members plan all of their outings, with guidance and instruction from qualified adult mentors and advisers. From single-day outings to week long camping trips, activities have included rock climbing, whitewater rafting, hiking, car camping, snow-cave camping, cross-country skiing and mountaineering. While attendance at all meetings is not required, the more meetings and outings you attend, the more you get out of the program!

Program Requirements
Program Activity Date Availability Leader
Seattle MAC - Skills Practice Night (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Feb 25, 2021
Registration closed Feb 24
3 participants
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Mar 25, 2021
Registration closes Mar 24
6 participants
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Apr 8, 2021
Registration closes Apr 7
8 participants
Seattle Program Center
Thu, May 13, 2021
Registration closes May 19
8 participants
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jun 17, 2021
Registration closes Jun 16
7 participants
Seattle MAC - Skills Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Feb 26, 2021
Registration closed Feb 25
2 participants
0 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Mar 5, 2021
Registration closes Mar 4
9 participants
0 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Mar 12, 2021
Registration closes Mar 11
5 participants
0 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Mar 19, 2021
Registration closes Mar 18
6 participants
0 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Mar 26, 2021
Registration closes Mar 25
6 participants
0 instructors
Seattle MAC - Cross-Country Ski (optional)
Cabin Creek
Sat, Feb 27, 2021
Registration closes Feb 26
4 participants
2 chaperones
1 instructor
Erling Stordahl
Sun, Feb 28, 2021
Registration closes Feb 27
5 participants
1 chaperone
1 instructor
Snow Bowl Hut, High Hut & The Yurt
Sat, Mar 6, 2021 -
Sun, Mar 7, 2021
Registration closes Mar 4
3 participants
0 chaperones
0 instructors
Seattle MAC - Backcountry Ski or Snowboard Trip (optional)
Kendall: Knobs, Lakes & Loops
Sun, Feb 28, 2021
Registration closed Feb 18
0 participants
0 chaperones
0 instructors
Youth Trip
Sat, Mar 20, 2021
Registration closes Mar 19
1 participant on waitlist
2 instructors
Seattle MAC - Glacier Climbing Fundamentals (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Mar 4, 2021
Registration closes Mar 3
2 participants on waitlist
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Apr 28, 2021
Registration closes Apr 27
4 participants on waitlist
0 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 12, 2021
Registration closes May 11
2 participants on waitlist
0 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 26, 2021
Registration closes May 25
2 participants on waitlist
0 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 2, 2021
Registration closes Jun 1
0 participants
0 instructors
Seattle MAC - Overnight Snow Camping Trip (optional)
Smith Brook Area
Sat, Mar 13, 2021 -
Sun, Mar 14, 2021
Registration closes Mar 11
1 participant on waitlist
0 chaperones
Seattle MAC - General Meeting (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Mar 17, 2021
Registration closes Mar 16
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Apr 21, 2021
Registration closes Apr 20
8 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 19, 2021
Registration closes May 18
10 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 16, 2021
Registration closes Jun 15
10 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jul 7, 2021
Registration closes Jul 6
11 participants
Seattle MAC - Climbing Trip (optional)
Vantage (Frenchman Coulee)
Sat, Mar 27, 2021 -
Sun, Mar 28, 2021
Registration closes Mar 18
5 participants on waitlist
1 chaperone
0 instructors
Exit 32
Sat, Apr 3, 2021
Registration opens Mar 1; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
0 instructors
Exit 32
Wed, Apr 7, 2021
Registration opens Mar 1; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
0 instructors
Exit 32
Sat, Apr 10, 2021
Registration opens Mar 1; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
0 instructors
Smith Rock
Sun, Apr 11, 2021 -
Wed, Apr 14, 2021
Registration closes Apr 10
8 participants
4 chaperones
1 instructor
Exit 32
Sat, May 22, 2021
Registration opens Mar 1; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
0 instructors
Exit 32
Sun, May 23, 2021
Registration opens Mar 1; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
0 instructors
Smith Rock
Fri, May 28, 2021 -
Mon, May 31, 2021
Registration closes May 19
7 participants
4 chaperones
3 instructors
Exit 32
Sat, Jun 5, 2021
Registration opens Mar 1; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
0 instructors
Exit 32
Wed, Jul 28, 2021
Registration opens Jun 1; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
0 instructors
Exit 32
Thu, Jul 29, 2021
Registration opens Jun 1; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
0 instructors
Seattle MAC - Leadership Meeting (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Mar 31, 2021
Registration closes Mar 30
6 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Apr 14, 2021
Registration closes Apr 13
6 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 5, 2021
Registration closes May 4
7 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 9, 2021
Registration closes Jun 8
7 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 30, 2021
Registration closes Jun 29
7 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Aug 11, 2021
Registration closes Aug 10
7 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Aug 18, 2021
Registration closes Aug 17
7 participants
Seattle MAC - Trail Work Day (optional)
Youth Trip
Sun, Apr 4, 2021
Registration closes Apr 2
3 participants on waitlist
0 instructors
Youth Trip
Sat, May 8, 2021
Registration closes May 7
0 participants
0 instructors
Seattle MAC - Snow 1 (optional)
Stevens Pass Ski Area
Sat, Apr 17, 2021 -
Sun, Apr 18, 2021
Registration closes Apr 15
2 participants on waitlist
1 instructor
Stevens Pass Ski Area
Sat, May 1, 2021 -
Sun, May 2, 2021
Registration closes May 6
1 participant on waitlist
2 instructors
Seattle MAC - Rappelling Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sat, Apr 24, 2021
Registration closes Apr 22
1 participant
Seattle MAC - Multi-pitch Skills Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Apr 25, 2021
Registration closes Apr 23
2 participants on waitlist
Seattle Program Center
Sun, May 9, 2021
Registration closes May 8
1 participant
Seattle MAC - Crevasse Rescue Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, May 16, 2021
Registration closes Apr 23
4 participants on waitlist
Seattle MAC - Alpine Climb (optional)
Mount Adams/South Spur
Thu, Jun 3, 2021 -
Fri, Jun 4, 2021
Registration opens May 19; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
3 chaperones
1 instructor on waitlist
Glacier Peak/Disappointment Peak Cleaver
Wed, Jun 23, 2021 -
Fri, Jun 25, 2021
Registration opens May 17; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
1 instructor
Sahale Peak/Quien Sabe Glacier
Sat, Aug 14, 2021 -
Sun, Aug 15, 2021
Registration opens May 17; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
1 instructor
Seattle MAC - Snow 2 (optional)
Mount Baker Recreation Area
Sat, Jun 12, 2021 -
Sun, Jun 13, 2021
Registration closes Jun 3
2 participants on waitlist
3 instructors
Seattle MAC - Multipitch Weekend (optional)
Leavenworth
Fri, Jun 18, 2021 -
Sun, Jun 20, 2021
Registration closes Jun 16
11 participants
3 chaperones
4 instructors
Seattle MAC - Skills Makeup/Refresher Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Tue, Jul 6, 2021
Registration closes Jul 4
9 participants
Seattle MAC - Backpacking Trip (optional)
Youth Trip
Fri, Jul 9, 2021 -
Mon, Jul 12, 2021
Registration opens Jun 9; Instructor registration open now
7 participants
0 chaperones
0 instructors
Scott Paul Trail & Park Butte
Sat, Aug 14, 2021 -
Sun, Aug 15, 2021
Registration opens Apr 1; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
0 chaperones
0 instructors
Youth Trip
Sat, Aug 21, 2021 -
Wed, Aug 25, 2021
Registration opens Jun 1; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
0 chaperones
0 instructors
Seattle MAC - Summer Trip (optional)
Mazama
Fri, Jul 9, 2021 -
Mon, Jul 19, 2021
Registration closes Jul 2
10 participants
3 chaperones
11 instructors
Seattle MAC - Summer Party (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Aug 6, 2021
Registration closes Aug 4
30 participants
10 chaperones
Roster
Required Equipment

Each trip will have a packing list and gear information on the activity page for it.

Program Materials

You must register for this program to see program materials.