Mountaineers Adventure Club - Seattle - 2019/2020

Youth Program

Mountaineers Adventure Club

The Mountaineers Adventure Club is a year-round outdoor adventure program for youth ages 14-18.

MAC calendar

March Update

Please read this description in its entirety before registering.

NOTE:  MAC membership is $1,225 in total for the year when starting in January. See payment plan form for details.

We offer scholarships! To apply for assistance from our scholarship funds, click here.

The Mountaineers is proud to host an Adventure Club in Seattle, Tacoma, and Olympia. The Adventure Club is a year-round outdoor adventure program for youth of ages 14-18. Currently youth from more than 15 high schools - from Bellingham to Issaquah and West Seattle to Tacoma - make up our Seattle and Tacoma Clubs. Members meet monthly to plan outings and learn skills needed to participate.

The youth members plan all of their outings, with guidance from adult advisers. From single-day outings to week long camping trips, activities have included rock climbing, whitewater rafting, hiking, car camping, snow-cave camping, cross-country skiing and mountaineering. While attendance at all meetings is not required, the more meetings and outings you attend, the more you get out of the program!

Program Requirements
Program Activity Date Availability Leader
Seattle MAC - Leadership Meeting (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 3, 2020
Registration closed May 26
4 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jul 1, 2020
Registration closes Jun 30
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jul 22, 2020
Registration closes Jul 21
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Aug 12, 2020
Registration closes Aug 11
4 participants
Seattle MAC - General Meeting (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 10, 2020
Registration closes Jun 9
15 participants
4 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jul 8, 2020
Registration closes Jul 7
17 participants
4 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle MAC - Trip Planning Meeting (for participants only) (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Mon, Jun 22, 2020
Registration closes Jun 21
9 participants
1 chaperone
Seattle MAC - Alpine Climb (optional)
Unicorn-Castle Traverse
Wed, Jun 24, 2020
Registration closes Jun 22
5 participants
2 instructors
Mount Baker/Easton Glacier
Fri, Jun 26, 2020 -
Sat, Jun 27, 2020
Registration opens Jun 22; Instructor registration open now
9 participants
1 instructor
Eldorado Peak/Inspiration Glacier
Sat, Aug 1, 2020 -
Sun, Aug 2, 2020
Registration opens Jul 1; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
2 instructors
Youth Trip
Sat, Aug 15, 2020 -
Sun, Aug 16, 2020
Registration opens Jul 1; Instructor registration open now
4 participants
0 instructors
Seattle MAC - Backpacking Trip (optional)
Hoh River Trail
Sat, Jun 27, 2020 -
Mon, Jun 29, 2020
Registration closes Jun 24
1 participant
1 chaperone
0 instructors
Youth Trip
Tue, Jul 14, 2020 -
Thu, Jul 16, 2020
Registration closes Jul 12
6 participants
2 chaperones
0 instructors
Seattle MAC - Climbing Trip (optional)
Leavenworth
Mon, Jun 29, 2020 -
Wed, Jul 1, 2020
Registration closes Jun 10
3 participants
1 chaperone
4 instructors
Seattle MAC - Skills Makeup/Refresher Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jul 1, 2020
Registration closes Jun 27
11 participants
1 chaperone
2 instructors
Seattle MAC - Canyoning Field Trip (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Jul 5, 2020
Registration closes Jul 4
1 participant on waitlist
1 chaperone
2 instructors
Seattle MAC - Summer Trip (optional)
Leavenworth
Fri, Jul 10, 2020 -
Mon, Jul 20, 2020
Registration closes Jul 1
2 participants
3 chaperones
6 instructors
Roster
Required Equipment

See "program materials" for complete gear list. 

Note: All climbing gear is available to be borrowed from The Mountaineers Gear Library, as well as other gear on an as-available basis. 

Program Materials

You must register for this program to see program materials.