Mountaineers Adventure Club - Seattle - 2019/2020

Youth Program

Mountaineers Adventure Club

The Mountaineers Adventure Club is a year-round outdoor adventure program for youth ages 14-18.

MAC calendar

Please read this description in its entirety before registering.

NOTE:  MAC membership is $1,225 in total for the year when starting in January. See payment plan form for details.

We offer scholarships! To apply for assistance from our scholarship funds, click here.

The Mountaineers is proud to host an Adventure Club in Seattle, Tacoma, and Olympia. The Adventure Club is a year-round outdoor adventure program for youth of ages 14-18. Currently youth from more than 15 high schools - from Bellingham to Issaquah and West Seattle to Tacoma - make up our Seattle and Tacoma Clubs. Members meet monthly to plan outings and learn skills needed to participate.

The youth members plan all of their outings, with guidance from adult advisers. From single-day outings to week long camping trips, activities have included rock climbing, whitewater rafting, hiking, car camping, snow-cave camping, cross-country skiing and mountaineering. While attendance at all meetings is not required, the more meetings and outings you attend, the more you get out of the program!

Program Requirements
Program Activity Date Availability Leader
Seattle MAC - Leadership Meeting (optional)
Seattle Bouldering Project
Wed, Jan 22, 2020
Registration closed Jan 20
6 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jan 29, 2020
Registration closes Jan 27
2 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Feb 26, 2020
Registration closes Feb 25
10 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Mar 25, 2020
Registration closes Mar 24
4 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Apr 22, 2020
Registration closes Apr 21
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 27, 2020
Registration closes May 26
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jul 1, 2020
Registration closes Jun 30
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jul 22, 2020
Registration closes Jul 21
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Aug 12, 2020
Registration closes Aug 11
4 participants
Seattle MAC - Trip Planning Meeting (for participants only) (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Jan 24, 2020
Registration closes Jan 22
5 participants
Seattle MAC - MAC + SCT Skills Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sat, Jan 25, 2020
Registration closes Jan 23
5 participants
5 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Feb 16, 2020
Registration closes Feb 11
7 participants
6 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Mar 1, 2020
Registration closes Feb 26
7 participants
6 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Mar 8, 2020
Registration closes Mar 4
8 participants
6 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Mar 29, 2020
Registration closes Mar 25
7 participants
6 instructors
Seattle MAC - Backcountry Ski or Snowboard Trip (optional)
Youth Trip
Sun, Jan 26, 2020
Registration closes Jan 24
2 participants
0 instructors
Youth Trip
Sun, Feb 9, 2020
Registration closes Feb 7
2 participants
1 instructor
Paradise
Sat, Feb 22, 2020
Registration closes Feb 20
3 participants
0 instructors
Seattle MAC - Ladies Trip Planning (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jan 30, 2020
Registration closes Jan 28
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle MAC - Open Climb Night (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jan 30, 2020
Registration closes Jan 29
13 participants
5 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Apr 23, 2020
Registration closes Apr 22
14 participants
5 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Thu, May 21, 2020
Registration closes May 20
13 participants
5 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jun 18, 2020
Registration closes Jun 17
12 participants
5 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle MAC - Belaying & Lead Climbing Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Tue, Feb 11, 2020
Registration closes Feb 10
7 participants
5 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Mar 19, 2020
Registration closes Mar 18
10 participants
5 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle MAC - NWAC Course Classroom Session (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Feb 12, 2020
Registration closes Feb 10
0 participants
4 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Feb 26, 2020
Registration closes Feb 25
0 participants
4 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Mar 4, 2020
Registration closes Mar 3
0 participants
4 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Mar 11, 2020
Registration closes Mar 10
0 participants
4 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Mar 13, 2020
Registration closes Mar 12
0 participants
4 instructors
Seattle MAC - General Meeting (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Feb 19, 2020
Registration closes Feb 18
17 participants
5 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Mar 11, 2020
Registration closes Mar 10
26 participants
5 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Apr 8, 2020
Registration closes Apr 7
20 participants
5 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 13, 2020
Registration closes May 12
21 participants
5 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 10, 2020
Registration closes Jun 9
21 participants
5 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jul 8, 2020
Registration closes Jul 7
23 participants
5 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle MAC - Bouldering (optional)
Seattle Bouldering Project
Fri, Feb 21, 2020
Registration closes Feb 16
3 participants on waitlist
2 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Bouldering Project
Fri, Mar 6, 2020
Registration closes Mar 4
1 participant on waitlist
Seattle Bouldering Project
Fri, Mar 20, 2020
Registration closes Mar 18
1 participant on waitlist
Seattle Bouldering Project
Fri, Apr 3, 2020
Registration closes Apr 1
1 participant on waitlist
Seattle MAC - NWAC Course Field Trip (optional)
Snoqualmie Summit East
Sat, Mar 7, 2020
Registration closes Mar 5
0 participants
2 chaperones
4 instructors
Meany Lodge
Sat, Mar 14, 2020 -
Sun, Mar 15, 2020
Registration closes Mar 8
4 participants
2 chaperones
4 instructors
$150.00
Seattle MAC - Trail Work Day (optional)
Youth Trip
Sat, Mar 7, 2020
Registration closes Mar 5
22 participants
5 chaperones
Youth Trip
Sun, Mar 22, 2020
Registration closes Mar 21
20 participants
5 chaperones
Tieton River: Royal Columns
Mon, Apr 13, 2020 -
Tue, Apr 14, 2020
Registration opens Feb 1; Instructor registration open now
9 participants
1 chaperone
0 instructors
Youth Trip
Sat, Apr 25, 2020
Registration closes Apr 24
21 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle MAC - Navigation Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Tue, Mar 10, 2020
Registration closes Jan 31
0 participants
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Apr 2, 2020
Registration closes Jan 31
3 participants
1 instructor
Seattle MAC - Climbing Trip (optional)
Vantage (Frenchman Coulee)
Sat, Mar 28, 2020 -
Sun, Mar 29, 2020
Registration opens Feb 28; Instructor registration open now
12 participants
2 chaperones
0 instructors
Exit 38
Sun, Apr 19, 2020
Registration closes Apr 17
7 participants on waitlist
0 chaperones
Exit 32
Sun, Apr 26, 2020
Registration opens Apr 1; Instructor registration open now
10 participants
1 instructor
Mazama
Fri, May 22, 2020 -
Mon, May 25, 2020
Registration closes May 21
6 participants on waitlist
2 chaperones
3 instructors
Seattle MAC - Canyoneering Skills Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Tue, Mar 31, 2020
Registration closes Mar 29
0 participants
3 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Tue, Apr 7, 2020
Registration closes Apr 6
2 participants
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Apr 23, 2020
Registration closes Apr 22
3 participants
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Apr 29, 2020
Registration closes Apr 28
3 participants
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Sat, May 9, 2020
Registration closes May 8
2 participants
1 instructor
Seattle MAC - Glacier Climbing Fundamentals (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Apr 1, 2020
Registration closes Mar 30
0 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 6, 2020
Registration closes May 5
3 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 3, 2020
Registration closes Jun 2
3 participants
Seattle MAC - Anchors/Cleaning Routes Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Apr 5, 2020
Registration closes Apr 3
2 participants
1 chaperone
2 instructors
Seattle MAC - Navigation Field Trip (optional)
Heybrook Lookout & Ridge
Sat, Apr 11, 2020
Registration closes Jan 31
2 participants
0 instructors
Seattle MAC - Multi-pitch Skills Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sat, Apr 18, 2020
Registration closes Apr 17
3 participants
2 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Sat, May 30, 2020
Registration closes May 28
2 participants
1 chaperone
2 instructors
Seattle MAC - Crevasse Rescue Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, May 3, 2020
Registration closes May 1
2 participants
2 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle MAC - Snow 1 (optional)
Stevens Pass Ski Area
Sat, May 16, 2020 -
Sun, May 17, 2020
Registration closes May 14
6 participants
4 chaperones
3 instructors
Seattle MAC - Canyoning Field Trip (optional)
Hall Creek
Sat, Jun 6, 2020
Registration closes Jun 5
2 participants
1 instructor
Hall Creek
Sun, Jun 7, 2020
Registration closes Jun 6
2 participants
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Jul 5, 2020
Registration closes Jul 4
4 participants
1 instructor
Seattle MAC - Multipitch Weekend (optional)
Leavenworth
Fri, Jun 12, 2020 -
Sun, Jun 14, 2020
Registration closes Jun 10
5 participants
2 chaperones
4 instructors
Seattle MAC - Snow 2 (optional)
Mount Baker Recreation Area
Sat, Jun 20, 2020 -
Sun, Jun 21, 2020
Registration closes Jun 18
11 participants
2 chaperones
3 instructors
Seattle MAC - Backpacking Trip (optional)
Eagle Cap Lakes Basin Loop
Tue, Jun 23, 2020 -
Sun, Jun 28, 2020
Registration opens Apr 1; Instructor registration open now
10 participants
1 instructor
Youth Trip
Fri, Jun 26, 2020 -
Sun, Jun 28, 2020
Registration opens Feb 1; Instructor registration open now
9 participants
1 chaperone
1 instructor
Youth Trip
Tue, Jul 14, 2020 -
Thu, Jul 16, 2020
Registration opens Jun 1; Instructor registration open now
9 participants
1 chaperone
1 instructor
Seattle MAC - Skills Makeup/Refresher Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Mon, Jun 29, 2020
Registration closes Jun 27
12 participants
1 chaperone
2 instructors
Seattle MAC - Summer Trip (optional)
Squamish
Sat, Jul 11, 2020 -
Tue, Jul 21, 2020
Registration closes Jul 1
6 participants
3 chaperones
6 instructors
Roster
Required Equipment

See "program materials" for complete gear list. 

Note: All climbing gear is available to be borrowed from The Mountaineers Gear Library, as well as other gear on an as-available basis. 

Program Materials

You must register for this program to see program materials.