Junior MAC - Seattle - 2019

Youth Program

Junior MAC

For youth ages 12-13 who are interested in spending time outdoors.

Junior MAC Monthly Update

Junior MAC Calendar 

Please read this description in its entirety before registering.

Junior MAC (JM) membership is $665 for families joining in January. To join, register and pay first months dues of $95 on this page (covering February. January is a free trial month). The remaining $570 (March-August) can be paid in monthly installments of $95 or all at once, using our Payment Plan Form.

We offer scholarships! To apply for a scholarship for this course click here.

Junior MAC (JM) is a year-round outdoor adventure program for youth ages 12-13 who want to learn new outdoor skills and make lasting friendships with fellow adventurers. While there is a focus on developing climbing skills for those who are interested, the program and activities are driven entirely by the participants’ areas of interest. While parents are not required to attend outings, we do encourage parents to join  us! This is a great opportunity for you and your family to get outside together!

Program Requirements
Program Activity Date Availability Leader
Seattle Junior MAC Open Climb Night (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jan 30, 2020
Registration closes Jan 28
14 participants
15 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Tue, Feb 11, 2020
Registration closes Feb 10
13 participants
15 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Mar 19, 2020
Registration closes Mar 18
13 participants
15 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Apr 23, 2020
Registration closes Apr 22
13 participants
15 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Thu, May 21, 2020
Registration closes May 20
13 participants
15 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jun 18, 2020
Registration closes Jun 17
13 participants
15 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Junior MAC Art Snowshoe (optional)
Baker Lodge
Sat, Feb 1, 2020
Registration closes Jan 30
1 participant
2 chaperones
0 instructors
Seattle Junior MAC Belaying and Rappelling Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Feb 2, 2020
Registration closes Jan 31
3 participants
3 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Junior MAC Meeting (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Feb 12, 2020
Registration closes Feb 10
12 participants
8 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Mar 18, 2020
Registration closes Mar 17
14 participants
9 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Apr 15, 2020
Registration closes Apr 14
14 participants
9 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 20, 2020
Registration closes May 19
15 participants
10 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 17, 2020
Registration closes Jun 16
14 participants
9 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jul 1, 2020
Registration closes Jun 30
14 participants
9 chaperones
Seattle Junior MAC Mountaineers Lodge Weekend (optional)
Meany Lodge
Sat, Feb 15, 2020 -
Sun, Feb 16, 2020
Registration closes Feb 9
16 participants
9 chaperones
$100.00
Seattle Junior MAC Camping & Climbing Trip (optional)
Vantage (Frenchman Coulee)
Sat, Mar 21, 2020 -
Sun, Mar 22, 2020
Registration closes Mar 19
1 participant
2 chaperones
1 instructor
Mount Erie
Sat, Apr 25, 2020 -
Sun, Apr 26, 2020
Registration closes Apr 23
7 participants
9 chaperones
1 instructor
Squamish
Fri, Jul 31, 2020 -
Mon, Aug 3, 2020
Registration closes Jul 29
5 participants
7 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Junior MAC Stewardship Day! (optional)
Youth Trip
Sun, Mar 29, 2020
Registration closes Mar 27
3 participants
0 chaperones
0 instructors
Youth Trip
Sun, May 3, 2020
Registration closes May 1
3 participants
1 chaperone
0 instructors
Youth Trip
Sat, Jun 6, 2020
Registration closes Jun 4
3 participants
0 chaperones
0 instructors
Seattle Junior MAC Rappelling and Anchor Cleaning Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sat, Apr 11, 2020
Registration closes Apr 9
9 participants
7 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Sat, May 9, 2020
Registration closes May 8
8 participants
7 chaperones
Seattle Junior MAC Snow Skills (optional)
Stevens Pass Ski Area
Sat, Apr 18, 2020
Registration closes Apr 16
1 participant on waitlist
0 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Junior MAC Backpack (optional)
Hoh River Trail
Sat, May 23, 2020 -
Mon, May 25, 2020
Registration closes May 21
3 participants on waitlist
1 chaperone on waitlist
1 instructor
Seattle Junior MAC Lead Climbing Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sat, Jun 20, 2020
Registration closes Jun 19
8 participants
7 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Jul 26, 2020
Registration closes Jul 24
18 participants
10 chaperones
Seattle Junior MAC - Rock Climb (optional)
Exit 38
Tue, Jun 23, 2020
Registration closes Jun 21
2 participants
0 chaperones
1 instructor
Exit 38
Sat, Jun 27, 2020
Registration closes Jun 25
2 participants
2 chaperones on waitlist
0 instructors
Seattle Junior MAC Kayaking (optional)
Lake Sammamish
Sun, Jul 12, 2020
Registration opens Mar 1; Instructor registration open now
10 participants
8 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle Junior MAC Summer Party (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Aug 6, 2020
Registration closes Aug 4
16 participants
8 chaperones
Roster
Required Equipment

Required equipment will be listed for each individual outing in the "trip sheet" which will be distributed to participants 2 weeks prior to the trip. Much of the required gear, including all climbing equipment, is available to borrow from The Mountaineers. 

Program Materials

You must register for this program to see program materials.