Mountaineers Adventure Club - Seattle - 2023

Youth Program

Mountaineers Adventure Club

The Adventure Club is a year-round outdoor adventure program for youth of ages 14-18.

We offer scholarships! To apply for assistance from our scholarship funds, click here.

The Club

The Mountaineers is proud to host an Adventure Club in Seattle and Tacoma. The Adventure Club is a year-round outdoor adventure program for youth of ages 14-18. Currently youth from more than 15 high schools - from Everett to Issaquah and West Seattle to Tacoma - make up our Seattle and Tacoma Clubs. Members meet multiple times monthly to plan outings, learn skills needed to participate, and go on trips. 

The youth members plan all of their outings, with guidance from adult advisers. From single-day outings to week long camping trips, activities have included rock climbing, backcountry skiing, backpacking, hiking, car camping, snow-cave camping, cross-country skiing and mountaineering. While attendance at all meetings and trips is not required, the more meetings and outings you attend, the more you get out of the program!

Pricing

MAC membership is $2,100 annually for students joining in the fall. Students joining in the winter will be prorated. The standard payment structure will be a 100% up-front payment upon registration. Upon request, members may opt-in to a 4-installment payment plan. This is an annual club.

To join, members must pay the entire course fee on this page when registering. If members wish to opt-in to the payment plan, they will make that request upon being offered a spot after the lottery. In that case, registration will be handled manually by staff in order to bypass the full course fee and begin with installments. Interested members will have the opportunity to join in on at least trip before paying and committing.

We offer financial assistance! To apply for financial assistance click here.

REGISTRATION

WHEN CAN I REGISTER FOR MAC?

Our registration process is outlined in our enrollment lottery. Anyone wishing to join MAC needs to have completed an enrollment lottery submission. This applies to returning and prospective new members. After families have been notified of lottery results, staff will offer families spots in the program which may be accepted here on this page. 

Here is a video that demonstrates the registration process for individual trips, which will be a helpful reference after accepting your offer to join the club, which will be extended manually by staff according to lottery results. Note: The video shows the Junior MAC course, but the process is the same for all of our youth clubs. 

KICKOFF TRIP

To register for the Seattle MAC Kick-Off Trip, visit the activity page for that trip which is listed as a stand-alone seminar in order to allow prospective members to register. 

Families who have been awarded a spot through the enrollment lottery will be able to register here for the Kick-Off Trip here, which is September 23 - 25. 

ALL OTHER TRIPS

To register (or cancel) for trips, make sure to always do it from THIS PAGE. Here is a video that demonstrates the registration process both for the club as a whole and for individual trips.

  1. Click on "Manage Registration" on the right side of this page
  2. Check the box(es) of the trip(s) you'd like to register for
  3. Scroll to the bottom and click "save"
  4. Double check what you are signed up for by viewing the "my activities" section of your profile. 

TROUBLESHOOTING TIPS

If it's not letting you register your child: check to make sure your child's "Youth Information Form" and "Youth Programs Form" are filled out on their profile, accessible via the "Youth Forms" tab.

Check this FAQ for an in-depth look at registration and the forms including helpful screenshots. 

If it's not letting you register as a chaperone: check to make sure your Mountaineers waiver is filled out on your profile and that you still have your QYL badge and/or QYL: Teen Clubs  badge (expires after 3 years).

VACCINATION

We are not requiring you to be vaccinated to be a part of the club, though various trip leaders might require it. If you'd like to learn more about our COVID guidance within the youth programs at at The Mountaineers, please check out our Guidance Document.

RESOURCES

Check out the "Program Materials" tab to find additional resources including the handbook, reimbursement form, general gear lists, trip leadership resources, and more!

Program Requirements
Program Activity Date Availability Leader
Seattle MAC - Student Leadership Team Meeting (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Nov 30, 2022
Registration closes Nov 29
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jan 25, 2023
Registration closes Jan 24
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Feb 22, 2023
Registration closes Feb 21
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Mar 22, 2023
Registration opens Mar 22
11 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Apr 19, 2023
Registration closes Apr 18
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 24, 2023
Registration closes May 23
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 21, 2023
Registration closes Jun 20
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Aug 16, 2023
Registration closes Aug 15
5 participants
Seattle MAC - Conditioning Hike (optional)
West Tiger Mountain 1-2-3
Sun, Dec 4, 2022
Registration closes Dec 2
1 participant on waitlist
0 chaperones
0 instructors
Poo Poo Point via High School Trail
Sat, Jan 7, 2023
Registration closes Jan 5
3 participants
2 chaperones
1 instructor
Youth Trip
Sat, Feb 18, 2023
Registration closes Feb 16
5 participants
2 chaperones
0 instructors
Youth Trip
Sun, Mar 12, 2023
Registration closes Mar 10
6 participants
2 chaperones
0 instructors
Youth Trip
Sat, Apr 1, 2023
Registration closes Mar 30
6 participants
2 chaperones
0 instructors
Umtanum Ridge
Sat, May 6, 2023
Registration closes May 4
7 participants
2 chaperones
0 instructors
Youth Trip
Sun, May 21, 2023
Registration closes May 19
6 participants
2 chaperones
0 instructors
Johnson Creek—Medra Pass
Sat, Jun 10, 2023
Registration closes Jun 8
4 participants
2 chaperones
1 instructor
Youth Trip
Sat, Jun 24, 2023
Registration closes Jun 22
7 participants
2 chaperones
0 instructors
Youth Trip
Sat, Jul 1, 2023
Registration closes Jun 29
5 participants
2 chaperones
1 instructor
Youth Trip
Sun, Jul 23, 2023
Registration closes Jul 21
6 participants
2 chaperones
1 instructor
Youth Trip
Sun, Jul 30, 2023
Registration closes Jul 28
5 participants
2 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle MAC - Holiday Party (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Dec 7, 2022
Registration closes Dec 5
15 participants
6 chaperones
Seattle MAC - Drytooling (optional)
Exit 38/Drytool Crag
Sat, Dec 10, 2022
Registration closes Dec 9
1 participant
1 instructor
Seattle MAC - Climbing 101 Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Dec 11, 2022
Registration closes Dec 10
8 participants
5 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Dec 11, 2022
Registration closes Dec 10
17 participants
5 instructors
Seattle MAC - Backcountry Ski Trip (optional)
Paradise Area (winter)
Wed, Dec 21, 2022
Registration closes Dec 7
2 participants
1 instructor
Paradise Glacier
Sat, May 13, 2023
Registration opens Apr 1; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
2 instructors
Seattle MAC - Winter Scramble (optional)
Pratt Mountain
Tue, Dec 27, 2022
Registration closes Dec 25
7 participants
2 chaperones
Seattle MAC - Glacier Skills Practice Night (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jan 4, 2023
Registration closes Jan 2
5 participants
3 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Feb 15, 2023
Registration closes Feb 14
7 participants
3 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Mar 17, 2023
Registration closes Mar 16
11 participants
3 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle MAC - General Meeting (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jan 11, 2023
Registration closes Jan 10
11 participants
3 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Feb 8, 2023
Registration closes Feb 7
12 participants
3 chaperones
0 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Mar 8, 2023
Registration closes Mar 7
12 participants
3 chaperones
0 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Apr 5, 2023
Registration closes Apr 4
14 participants
3 chaperones
0 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 10, 2023
Registration closes May 9
14 participants
3 chaperones
0 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 7, 2023
Registration closes Jun 6
14 participants
3 chaperones
0 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jul 5, 2023
Registration closes Jul 4
14 participants
3 chaperones
0 instructors
Seattle MAC - Methow Cross-Country Ski Weekend (optional)
Methow Valley Winter Trails
Fri, Jan 13, 2023 -
Mon, Jan 16, 2023
Registration closes Jan 4
1 participant
1 chaperone
0 instructors
$1,500.00
Seattle MAC - Anchors/Cleaning Routes Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sat, Jan 21, 2023
Registration closes Jan 19
3 participants
3 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Sat, Jan 21, 2023
Registration closes Jan 20
17 participants
3 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Feb 5, 2023
Registration closes Feb 4
10 participants
3 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Feb 5, 2023
Registration closes Feb 4
16 participants
3 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle MAC - Trail Run (optional)
Cougar Mountain: Sky Country Trailhead
Sat, Jan 28, 2023
Registration closes Jan 25
5 participants
1 chaperone
1 instructor
Grand Ridge Park (Snoqualmie)
Sun, Feb 19, 2023
Registration closes Feb 17
8 participants
2 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle MAC - Skills Practice Night (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Tue, Jan 31, 2023
Registration closes Jan 30
27 participants
3 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Feb 16, 2023
Registration closes Feb 15
28 participants
3 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Mar 31, 2023
Registration closes Mar 30
28 participants
3 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Apr 21, 2023
Registration closes Apr 20
28 participants
3 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Thu, May 25, 2023
Registration closes May 24
30 participants
3 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Jun 9, 2023
Registration closes Jun 8
29 participants
3 instructors
Seattle MAC - Overnight Snow Camping Trip (optional)
Paradise Area (winter)
Sat, Feb 25, 2023 -
Sun, Feb 26, 2023
Registration closes Feb 23
9 participants
2 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle MAC - Rappelling Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sat, Mar 11, 2023
Registration closes Mar 9
5 participants
3 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Sat, Mar 11, 2023
Registration closes Mar 10
15 participants
3 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle MAC - Climbing Trip (optional)
Vantage/Sunshine Wall
Fri, Mar 17, 2023 -
Sun, Mar 19, 2023
Registration opens Feb 6; Instructor registration open now
18 participants
3 chaperones
2 instructors
Tieton River: Royal Columns
Fri, Mar 24, 2023 -
Sun, Mar 26, 2023
Registration opens Feb 6; Instructor registration open now
18 participants
3 chaperones
1 instructor
Smith Rock
Fri, Apr 7, 2023 -
Tue, Apr 11, 2023
Registration opens Apr 6; Instructor registration open now
18 participants
3 chaperones
1 instructor
$500.00
Smith Rock
Fri, May 26, 2023 -
Mon, May 29, 2023
Registration opens Mar 12; Instructor registration open now
18 participants
2 chaperones
1 instructor
$500.00
Seattle MAC - Crevasse Rescue Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Apr 2, 2023
Registration opens Feb 16; Instructor registration open now
18 participants
3 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Sun, May 14, 2023
Registration opens Feb 16; Instructor registration open now
18 participants
3 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle MAC - Snow 1 Field Trip (optional)
Snoqualmie Summit West
Sat, Apr 22, 2023
Registration opens Feb 16; Instructor registration open now
18 participants
2 chaperones
3 instructors
Snoqualmie Summit West
Sat, Apr 29, 2023 -
Sun, Apr 30, 2023
Registration opens Feb 16; Instructor registration open now
18 participants
2 chaperones
3 instructors
Seattle MAC - Multi-Pitch Skills Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Apr 23, 2023
Registration opens Mar 12; Instructor registration open now
18 participants
5 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Sat, May 20, 2023
Registration opens Mar 12; Instructor registration open now
18 participants
5 instructors
Seattle MAC - Crevasse Rescue Skills Practice Night (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Apr 28, 2023
Registration closes Apr 26
10 participants
3 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 17, 2023
Registration closes May 16
11 participants
3 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Jun 2, 2023
Registration closes Jun 1
14 participants
3 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle MAC - Backpacking Trip (optional)
Ancient Lake
Sat, May 6, 2023 -
Sun, May 7, 2023
Registration closes May 4
5 participants
2 chaperones
Boiling Lake Area
Wed, Jul 12, 2023 -
Sat, Jul 15, 2023
Registration opens Jul 7
8 participants
2 chaperones
Seattle MAC - Intro to Trad Climbing Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 31, 2023
Registration opens Apr 24; Instructor registration open now
18 participants
5 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jun 8, 2023
Registration opens Apr 24; Instructor registration open now
18 participants
5 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jun 15, 2023
Registration opens Apr 23; Instructor registration open now
18 participants
5 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Jun 23, 2023
Registration opens Apr 24; Instructor registration open now
18 participants
5 instructors
Seattle MAC - Snow 2 Field Trip (optional)
Mount Baker Recreation Area: Easton Glacier
Sat, Jun 3, 2023 -
Sun, Jun 4, 2023
Registration opens May 1; Instructor registration open now
24 participants
7 instructors
Seattle MAC - Multipitch Weekend (optional)
Mount Erie
Fri, Jun 16, 2023 -
Sun, Jun 18, 2023
Registration opens Apr 24; Instructor registration open now
36 participants
6 chaperones
7 instructors
Seattle MAC - Summer Trip! (optional)
Squamish
Fri, Jul 7, 2023 -
Mon, Jul 17, 2023
Registration opens Jan 15; Instructor registration open now
36 participants
6 chaperones
6 instructors
$2,000.00
Seattle MAC - Long-Distance Backpacking Trip (optional)
Youth Trip
Thu, Jul 20, 2023 -
Sat, Jul 22, 2023
Registration opens Jun 1; Instructor registration open now
4 participants
1 instructor
Middle Fork Snoqualmie River
Thu, Jul 27, 2023 -
Sat, Jul 29, 2023
Registration opens Jun 1; Instructor registration open now
4 participants
1 instructor
Pacific Crest Trail: Snoqualmie Pass to Stevens Pass
Wed, Aug 2, 2023 -
Sat, Aug 5, 2023
Registration opens Jun 1; Instructor registration open now
4 participants
1 instructor
Pacific Crest Trail: Snoqualmie Pass to Stevens Pass
Wed, Aug 9, 2023 -
Sat, Aug 12, 2023
Registration opens Jun 1; Instructor registration open now
4 participants
1 instructor
Pacific Crest Trail: White Pass to Bridge of the Gods
Sun, Aug 20, 2023 -
Sat, Sep 2, 2023
Registration opens Jun 1; Instructor registration open now
4 participants
1 instructor
Seattle MAC - Summer Party (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Aug 2, 2023
Registration closes Jul 31
24 participants
3 chaperones
Roster
Required Equipment

Each trip will have a "trip sheet" containing a schedule, driving directions, route information, and a detailed packing list. Packing lists are also available anytime on individual activity pages. Climbing gear is available directly to MAC students via the MAC manager, most other gear must be requested through through the Gear Library

Program Materials

You must register for this program to see program materials.