Explorers - Seattle - 2020

Youth Program

Explorers

For youth ages 10-11 who are interested in spending time outdoors and learning valuable wilderness skills.

Info
COVID-19: Learn about our most up-to-date guidance for participants and leaders on our COVID-19 Response page. All participants and leaders must agree to the COVID-19 Code of Conduct before participating in this Mountaineers course.

Explorers/Jr. MAC Calendar

Qualified Youth Leader Resources

Explorers is a year-round outdoor adventure program for youth ages 10-11 who want to learn new outdoor skills, and make lasting friendships with fellow adventurers. While there is a focus on developing climbing skills for those who are interested, the program and activities are driven entirely by the participants’ areas of interest. While both parents/guardians are not required to attend outings, a parent/guardian chaperone support is required for all trips. This is a great opportunity for you to get outside with your Explorer!

Note: Explorer membership is $900 for families joining in September. Students joining in the winter will be prorated. Members will have the option of paying up front or paying the annual fee in a series of installments. This is an annual club.

To join, members must pay the 1st of 4 installments (non-refundable) by October 31. They do so by using this website page to register. Be aware that the price displayed on this page is the price of the 1st installment and that the program costs $900. Interested members will have the opportunity to join in on at least one meeting and trip before paying and committing.

We offer financial assistance! To apply for financial assistance click here.

Program Requirements
Program Activity Date Availability Leader
Seattle Explorers Belaying and Knot Tying Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Dec 6, 2020
Registration closed Dec 4
3 participants
2 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jan 7, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Jan 17, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Feb 11, 2021
Registration closes Feb 9
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Feb 25, 2021
Registration opens Jan 14
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Explorers Meeting (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Dec 16, 2020
Registration closes Dec 15
20 participants
13 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Feb 3, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13; Instructor registration open now
15 participants
15 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Mar 10, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13; Instructor registration open now
15 participants
15 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Apr 7, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13; Instructor registration open now
15 participants
15 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 5, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13; Instructor registration open now
15 participants
15 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 9, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13; Instructor registration open now
15 participants
15 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 30, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13; Instructor registration open now
15 participants
15 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Explorers XC Ski Day (optional)
Youth Trip
Sat, Dec 19, 2020
Registration closes Dec 10
6 participants
3 chaperones
Youth Trip
Sat, Dec 19, 2020
Registration closes Dec 10
9 participants
4 chaperones
Youth Trip
Sat, Feb 27, 2021
Registration opens Jan 14
10 participants
4 chaperones
Youth Trip
Sat, Feb 27, 2021
Registration opens Jan 14
11 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Explorers New Member Meeting (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jan 13, 2021
Registration closes Jan 11
37 participants
Seattle Explorers Open Climb Night (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Jan 15, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jan 27, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Feb 26, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Feb 26, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Tue, Mar 2, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
11 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Tue, Mar 2, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
11 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Apr 16, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
11 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Apr 21, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
11 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Tue, May 18, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Tue, May 18, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jun 10, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jun 10, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Explorers Snow Caving (optional)
Paradise (Mount Rainier)
Thu, Jan 28, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
9 participants
3 chaperones
Paradise (Mount Rainier)
Thu, Jan 28, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
4 chaperones
Seattle Explorers Snowshoe (optional)
Youth Trip
Fri, Feb 19, 2021
Registration opens Jan 14
8 participants
2 chaperones
Youth Trip
Fri, Feb 19, 2021
Registration opens Jan 14
11 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Explorers Parents Only Anchor Building Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Mar 7, 2021
Registration opens Jan 14
8 participants
8 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Mar 7, 2021
Registration opens Jan 14
10 participants
10 chaperones
Seattle Explorers Hike (optional)
Youth Trip
Sat, Mar 27, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
4 chaperones
Greenwater & Echo Lakes
Sat, Mar 27, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
4 chaperones
Seattle Explorers Rappelling and Anchor Cleaning Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Apr 8, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
10 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Apr 22, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
10 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Sat, May 8, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Sat, May 8, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jun 3, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jun 24, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Explorers Climbing (optional)
Exit 38
Sun, Apr 18, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
4 chaperones
Exit 38
Sun, Apr 18, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
10 participants
4 chaperones
Exit 38
Sun, Jun 6, 2021
Registration opens Jan 14
11 participants
5 chaperones
Seattle Explorers Camping & Climbing Trip (optional)
Leavenworth
Sat, May 22, 2021 -
Sun, May 23, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
11 participants
5 chaperones
Leavenworth
Sat, May 22, 2021 -
Sun, May 23, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
9 participants
3 chaperones
Seattle Explorers Backpack (optional)
Youth Trip
Sat, Jun 26, 2021 -
Mon, Jun 28, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
11 participants
5 chaperones
Hoh River Trail
Sat, Jun 26, 2021 -
Mon, Jun 28, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
9 participants
3 chaperones
Seattle Explorers Summer Trip! (optional)
Mazama
Fri, Jul 30, 2021 -
Tue, Aug 3, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
11 participants
5 chaperones
Mazama
Fri, Jul 30, 2021 -
Tue, Aug 3, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
9 participants
3 chaperones
Seattle Explorers Summer Party (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Aug 5, 2021
Registration opens Jan 13
29 participants
15 chaperones
Roster
Required Equipment

Varies depending on the trip. The activity page for each trip will list the required equipment. During COVID, a mask is required for all trips. 

Program Materials

You must register for this program to see program materials.