The Mountaineers Leader of the Year


The Mountaineers Leader of the Year

This is the award given to the one volunteer in the entire organization who has contributed to the mission of The Mountaineers in a way that exceeds all expectations of our many exceptional volunteers. This is an organization-wide award strives to identify the Mountaineers Leader whose trips have received the best feedback, maintained the safety and enjoyment of his or her groups, and gotten large numbers of people outside!

The recipient of this annual organization-wide award is determined by our Board President, Board Vice President, and CEO. If you would like to submit a nomination, please contact our leadership and let us know! 


  • 2017 - Bill Borom
  • 2016 - Dick Hayek
  • 2015 - Brian Carpenter
  • 2014 - Nicole Hansen
  • 2013 - William Ashby
  • 2012 - Lawrence Landauer
  • 2011 - Gene Yore
  • 2010 - John Ohlson
  • 2009 - Eric Linxweiler and Mona West