Nomads - Seattle - 2020

Youth Program

Nomads

Nomads is a year round program for youth ages 8-9.

Info
COVID-19: Learn about our most up-to-date guidance for participants and leaders on our COVID-19 Response page. All participants and leaders must agree to the COVID-19 Code of Conduct before participating in this Mountaineers course.

Pathfinders/Nomads Calendar

Qualified Youth Leader Resources

The program will provide the opportunity for Nomads to get outside once a month with their parents or independently. The program is designed to expose youth to a variety of outdoor activities, and have fun! The kids will get the opportunity to climb, hike, paddle, explore, and have fun. While both parents/guardians are not required to attend outings, a parent/guardian chaperone support is required for all trips. This is a great opportunity for you to get outside with your Nomad!

Note: Nomads membership is $750 for families joining in September. Students joining in the winter will be prorated. Members will have the option of paying up front or paying the annual fee in a series of installments. This is an annual club.

To join, members must pay the 1st of 4 installments (non-refundable) by October 31. They do so by using this website page to register. Be aware that the price displayed on this page is the price of the 1st installment and that the program costs $750. Interested members will have the opportunity to join in on at least one meeting and trip before paying and committing.

We offer financial assistance! To apply for financial assistance click here.

Program Requirements
Program Activity Date Availability Leader
Seattle Nomads Meeting (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Tue, Jan 26, 2021
Registration closes Jan 24
11 participants
9 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Tue, Feb 23, 2021
Registration closes Feb 21
12 participants
10 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Tue, Mar 23, 2021
Registration closes Mar 21
12 participants
10 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Tue, Apr 27, 2021
Registration closes Apr 25
12 participants
10 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Tue, May 25, 2021
Registration closes May 23
12 participants
10 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Program Center
Tue, Jun 29, 2021
Registration closes Jun 27
12 participants
10 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Nomads XC Skiing (optional)
Cabin Creek
Sat, Jan 30, 2021
Registration closes Jan 28
3 participants
1 chaperone
Seattle Nomads Open Climb & Skills Night (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Feb 5, 2021
Registration closes Feb 3
3 participants
0 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Mar 11, 2021
Registration closes Mar 23
4 participants
1 chaperone
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Apr 9, 2021
Registration closes Apr 6
3 participants
0 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Fri, May 14, 2021
Registration closes May 11
2 participants
0 chaperones
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jun 3, 2021
Registration closes Jun 1
2 participants
0 chaperones
Seattle Nomads PARENTS ONLY Lead Belay & Climbing Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Feb 14, 2021
Registration closes Feb 12
7 participants
8 chaperones
Seattle Nomads Snowshoeing (optional)
Gold Creek Basin (winter)
Sun, Feb 21, 2021
Registration closes Feb 19
2 participants
0 chaperones
Seattle Nomads Hike (optional)
Iverson Railroad & Artifacts Trails
Sat, Mar 6, 2021
Registration closes Mar 4
4 participants
1 chaperone
Snoquera Falls Loop
Sun, Mar 14, 2021
Registration closes Mar 12
3 participants
0 chaperones
Seattle Nomads Parents Only Rappelling Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Mar 7, 2021
Registration closes Mar 5
8 participants
10 chaperones
Seattle Nomads Parent Only Anchor Building Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Apr 4, 2021
Registration closes Apr 2
7 participants
9 chaperones
Seattle Nomads Camping Trip (optional)
Deception Pass State Park
Sat, Apr 24, 2021 -
Sun, Apr 25, 2021
Registration closes Apr 22
4 participants
1 chaperone
Mazama
Fri, Jul 23, 2021 -
Sun, Jul 25, 2021
Registration opens May 1
6 participants
0 chaperones
Seattle Nomads Parents Only Anchor Cleaning Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Thu, May 20, 2021
Registration closes May 18
7 participants
7 chaperones
Seattle Nomads Climbing (optional)
Exit 38
Sat, May 22, 2021
Registration closes May 13
4 participants
1 chaperone
Exit 38
Wed, Jun 23, 2021
Registration closes Jun 21
3 participants
0 chaperones
Seattle Nomads Backpack (optional)
Pete Lake
Sat, Jun 12, 2021 -
Sun, Jun 13, 2021
Registration closes Jun 10
4 participants
1 chaperone
Seattle Nomads Parents Culminating Skills Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sat, Jun 19, 2021
Registration closes Jun 17
8 participants
10 chaperones
Seattle Nomads Summer Party (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Aug 5, 2021
Registration closes Aug 3
22 participants
12 chaperones
Roster
Required Equipment

Required equipment will be listed for each individual outing in the "trip sheet" which will be distributed to participants 2 weeks prior to the trip. Much of the required gear, including all climbing equipment, is available to borrow from The Mountaineers. 

Program Materials

You must register for this program to see program materials.