Mountaineers Adventure Club - Seattle - 2018/2019

Youth Program

Mountaineers Adventure Club

The Adventure Club is a year-round outdoor adventure program for youth of ages 14-18.

MAC CALENDAR

Please read this description in its entirety before registering.

NOTE:  MAC membership is $1650 in total for the year. A $300 deposit is required and the remainder can be paid in full or in monthly installments.

We offer financial assistance! To apply for financial assistance click here.

The Mountaineers is proud to host an Adventure Club in Seattle and Tacoma. The Adventure Club is a year-round outdoor adventure program for youth of ages 14-18. Currently youth from more than 15 high schools - from Bellingham to Issaquah and West Seattle to Tacoma - make up our Seattle and Tacoma Clubs. Members meet monthly to plan outings and learn skills needed to participate.

The youth members plan all of their outings, with guidance from adult advisers. From single-day outings to week long camping trips, activities have included rock climbing, whitewater rafting, hiking, car camping, snow-cave camping, cross-country skiing and mountaineering. While attendance at all meetings is not required, the more meetings and outings you attend, the more you get out of the program!

Program Requirements
Program Activity Date Availability Leader
Adventure Club - Bouldering (optional)
Seattle Bouldering Project
Fri, Feb 22, 2019
Registration closed Feb 20
14 participants
Seattle Bouldering Project
Fri, Mar 8, 2019
Registration closes Mar 6
8 participants
Seattle Bouldering Project
Fri, Mar 22, 2019
Registration closes Mar 20
12 participants
Adventure Club - Backcountry Ski or Snowboard Trip (optional)
Youth Trip
Sat, Feb 23, 2019
Registration closed Feb 21
0 participants
0 chaperones
0 instructors
Adventure Club - Snowshoeing Trip
Annette Lake
Sun, Feb 24, 2019
Registration closed Feb 21
1 participant
1 chaperone
Adventure Club - Leadership Meeting (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Feb 27, 2019
Registration closes Feb 25
4 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Mar 27, 2019
Registration closes Mar 25
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Apr 24, 2019
Registration closes Apr 22
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 29, 2019
Registration closes May 27
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 26, 2019
Registration closes Jun 24
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jul 31, 2019
Registration closes Jul 29
5 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Aug 21, 2019
Registration closes Aug 19
5 participants
Adventure Club - Volunteer Instructing (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sat, Mar 2, 2019
Registration closes Feb 28
6 participants
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Mar 17, 2019
Registration closes Mar 15
8 participants
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Mar 31, 2019
Registration closes Mar 29
8 participants
Seattle Program Center
Sat, Apr 27, 2019
Registration closes Apr 25
19 participants
Seattle Program Center
Sat, May 11, 2019
Registration closes May 9
19 participants
Adventure Club - Cross-Country Ski (optional)
Youth Trip
Sat, Mar 9, 2019 -
Sun, Mar 10, 2019
Registration closed Jan 24
2 participants on waitlist
0 chaperones
Adventure Club - General Meeting (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Mar 13, 2019
Registration closes Mar 11
6 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Apr 10, 2019
Registration closes Apr 8
10 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 15, 2019
Registration closes May 13
12 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 12, 2019
Registration closes Jun 10
14 participants
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jul 10, 2019
Registration closes Jul 8
15 participants
Adventure Club - Open Climb Night (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Mar 21, 2019
Registration closes Mar 19
20 participants
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Apr 18, 2019
Registration closes Apr 16
22 participants
Seattle Program Center
Thu, May 23, 2019
Registration closes May 21
21 participants
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jun 20, 2019
Registration closes Jun 18
24 participants
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jul 18, 2019
Registration closes Jul 16
25 participants
Adventure Club - Trail Work Day (optional)
Youth Trip
Sat, Mar 23, 2019
Registration closes Mar 21
14 participants
5 chaperones
Youth Trip
Sat, Apr 27, 2019
Registration closes Apr 25
12 participants
5 chaperones
Adventure Club - Belay Escape and Rappelling Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sat, Apr 6, 2019
Registration closes Apr 4
2 participants
3 chaperones
2 instructors
Adventure Club - Crevasse Rescue Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, Apr 14, 2019
Registration closes Apr 12
1 participant
0 instructors
Adventure Club - Hike (optional)
Youth Trip
Sat, Apr 20, 2019
Registration closes Apr 18
1 participant on waitlist
0 chaperones
Adventure Club - Climbing Trip (optional)
Youth Trip
Sun, Apr 28, 2019
Registration opens Apr 1; Instructor registration open now
10 participants
2 chaperones
0 instructors
Youth Trip
Fri, May 24, 2019 -
Mon, May 27, 2019
Registration closes May 22
2 participants on waitlist
0 chaperones
2 instructors
Adventure Club - Snow Skills and Self-Arrest Field Trip (optional)
Bean Creek Basin
Sat, May 11, 2019 -
Sun, May 12, 2019
Registration closes May 9
4 participants on waitlist
1 chaperone
3 instructors
Mount Baker Recreation Area (Easton Glacier)
Fri, Jun 14, 2019 -
Sun, Jun 16, 2019
Registration closes Jun 20
1 participant
0 chaperones
1 instructor
Adventure Club - Multi-pitch Skills Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sun, May 19, 2019
Registration closes May 17
0 participants
1 chaperone
3 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Sat, Jun 1, 2019
Registration closes May 30
6 participants
1 chaperone
3 instructors
Adventure Club - Alpine Climb (optional)
Castle Peak & First Mother Mountain
Sun, Jun 2, 2019
Registration opens Mar 1; Instructor registration open now
8 participants
1 instructor
Eldorado Peak/Inspiration Glacier
Sat, Jun 22, 2019 -
Sun, Jun 23, 2019
Registration opens May 1; Instructor registration open now
5 participants
0 instructors
Mount Adams/South Spur
Sat, Jun 29, 2019 -
Sun, Jun 30, 2019
Registration closes May 16
6 participants
0 instructors
South Early Winter Spire/South Arête
Tue, Jul 16, 2019
Registration opens Mar 1; Instructor registration open now
4 participants
0 instructors
Adventure Club - Multipitch Weekend (optional)
Leavenworth
Fri, Jun 7, 2019 -
Sun, Jun 9, 2019
Registration closes May 29
5 participants
1 chaperone
0 instructors
Adventure Club - Backpacking Trip (optional)
Olympic Coast South: The Wildcatter Coast
Fri, Jun 21, 2019 -
Sun, Jun 23, 2019
Registration closes Jun 26
1 participant
0 chaperones
Youth Trip
Fri, Jun 21, 2019 -
Sun, Jun 23, 2019
Registration closes Jun 19
0 participants
1 instructor
Adventure Club - Summer Trip (optional)
Mazama
Fri, Jul 12, 2019 -
Sun, Jul 21, 2019
Registration closes Jul 17
9 participants
7 chaperones
7 instructors
Adventure Club - Summer Party (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Fri, Aug 9, 2019
Registration closes Aug 7
36 participants
13 chaperones
Roster
Required Equipment

Different trips require different gear. With a few exceptions, all gear is available to be borrowed from the Mountaineers.

A complete list of gear required for different trips and it's availability to be borrowed can be found here. 

Program Materials

You must register for this program to see program materials.