Explorers - Seattle - 2018/2019

Youth Program

Explorers

For youth ages 10-13 who are interested in spending time outdoors.

EXPLORERS CALENDAR

Please read this description in its entirety before registering.

NOTE: Explorers membership is $850 in total for the year. A $100 deposit is required and the remainder can be paid in full or in monthly installments.

We offer financial assistance! To apply for financial assistance click here.

Explorers is a year-round outdoor adventure program for youth ages 10-13 who want to learn new outdoor skills and make lasting friendships with fellow adventurers. While there is a focus on developing climbing skills for those who are interested, the program and activities are driven entirely by the participants’ areas of interest. While parents are not required to attend outings, we do encourage parents to join  us! This is a great opportunity for you to get outside with your Explorer!

See this page for more information. 

Program Requirements
Program Activity Date Availability Leader
Seattle Explorers Snowshoe (optional)
Commonwealth Basin
Sun, Jan 27, 2019
Registration closes Jan 25
9 participants
4 chaperones
Grace Lakes
Sun, Jan 27, 2019
Registration closes Jan 25
11 participants
5 chaperones
Snow Bowl Hut, High Hut & The Yurt
Sat, Mar 9, 2019
Registration closes Mar 7
9 participants on waitlist
2 chaperones on waitlist
0 instructors
Seattle Explorers Meeting (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Feb 6, 2019
Registration closes Feb 5
7 participants
14 chaperones
3 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Mar 6, 2019
Registration closes Mar 5
8 participants
16 chaperones
3 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Apr 3, 2019
Registration closes Apr 2
7 participants
15 chaperones
3 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, May 8, 2019
Registration closes Apr 29
7 participants
15 chaperones
3 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jun 5, 2019
Registration closes Jun 4
8 participants
16 chaperones
3 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jul 3, 2019
Registration closes Jul 2
7 participants
15 chaperones
3 instructors
Seattle Program Center
Wed, Jul 31, 2019
Registration closes Jul 31
13 participants
18 chaperones
3 instructors
Seattle Explorers Mountaineers Lodge Weekend (optional)
Baker Lodge
Sat, Feb 23, 2019 -
Sun, Feb 24, 2019
Registration closes Feb 13
7 participants
6 chaperones
Seattle Explorers Open Climb Night (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Mar 21, 2019
Registration closes Mar 19
24 participants
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Apr 18, 2019
Registration closes Apr 16
25 participants
Seattle Program Center
Thu, May 23, 2019
Registration closes May 21
24 participants
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jun 20, 2019
Registration closes Jun 18
24 participants
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Jul 18, 2019
Registration closes Jul 16
25 participants
Seattle Explorers Stewardship Day! (optional)
Youth Trip
Sun, Mar 24, 2019
Registration closes Mar 22
1 participant
6 chaperones
0 instructors
Youth Trip
Sun, Apr 28, 2019
Registration closes Apr 26
1 participant
7 chaperones
0 instructors
Seattle Explorers Camping & Climbing Trip (optional)
Vantage (Frenchman Coulee)
Sat, Mar 30, 2019 -
Sun, Mar 31, 2019
Registration closes Mar 24
5 participants
6 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Explorers Hike (optional)
Youth Trip
Sat, Apr 6, 2019
Registration closes Apr 4
8 participants
0 chaperones
1 instructor
Youth Trip
Sat, May 4, 2019
Registration closes May 2
0 participants
0 chaperones
0 instructors
Youth Trip
Sat, May 4, 2019
Registration closes May 1
0 participants
2 chaperones
0 instructors
Seattle Explorers Navigation Field Trip (optional)
Youth Trip
Sat, Apr 13, 2019
Registration closes Apr 11
2 participants on waitlist
8 chaperones
1 instructor
Seattle Explorers Skills Workshop (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Sat, May 11, 2019
Registration closes May 10
16 participants
20 chaperones
3 instructors
Seattle Explorers - Rock Climb (optional)
Exit 38
Sun, May 19, 2019
Registration closes May 17
7 participants on waitlist
2 chaperones on waitlist
1 instructor
Seattle Explorers Backpack (optional)
Hoh River Trail
Fri, Jun 14, 2019 -
Sun, Jun 16, 2019
Registration closes Jun 12
0 participants
2 chaperones
1 instructor
Youth Trip
Fri, Jun 14, 2019 -
Sun, Jun 16, 2019
Registration closes Jun 12
0 participants
0 chaperones
2 instructors
Seattle Explorers Kayak (optional)
Lake Washington
Sat, Jul 6, 2019
Registration closes Jul 4
3 participants on waitlist
0 chaperones
0 instructors
Seattle Explorers Summer Trip! (optional)
Mazama
Fri, Aug 2, 2019 -
Mon, Aug 5, 2019
Registration closes Aug 1
1 participant
1 chaperone on waitlist
2 instructors
Seattle Explorers Summer Party (optional)
Seattle Program Center
Thu, Aug 8, 2019
Registration closes Aug 7
41 participants
25 chaperones
Roster
Required Equipment

With a few exceptions, all required gear for trips will be available to be borrowed from The Mountaineers. Each trip will have an itinerary/gear list that will be sent out in advance to let everyone know what they need. 

Program Materials

You must register for this program to see program materials.