Intermediate Climbing Course   - Olympia - 2015

Climbing Course

Intermediate Climbing Course

Intermediate Climbing Course - Olympia

Info
COVID-19: Learn about our most up-to-date guidance for participants and leaders on our COVID-19 Response page. All participants and leaders must agree to the COVID-19 Code of Conduct before participating in this Mountaineers course.

The intermediate climbing course provides classroom and field instruction designed to teach the techniques of safe climbing on rock, hard snow, ice, and mixed alpine terrain. Leadership and safety skills are major components of the course. The Olympia intermediate climbing course is offered in a module format that includes instruction on winter mountaineering including emergency shelter construction and avalanche safety and rescue; leading on rock including setting pro, building and equalizing anchors, swinging leads and self-rescue; hard snow and glacier travel including German and French technique; and vertical ice climbing including the placing of ice screws and swinging leads on 60+ degree ice.

Course Requirements
Course Activity Date Availability Leader
Intermediate Climbing Course Orientation
Cirque Climbing Gym
Wed, Jan 13, 2021
Registration closes Jan 11
18 participants
Intermediate Climbing Course Qualifier
Cirque Climbing Gym
Sat, Feb 6, 2021
Registration closes Feb 4
18 participants
0 instructors
Winter Mountaineering
Red Mountain (Commonwealth Basin)
Sat, Feb 27, 2021 -
Sun, Feb 28, 2021
Registration opens Dec 4; Instructor registration open now
6 participants
1 instructor
Intermediate Rock Field Trip 1
Leavenworth
Sat, May 22, 2021 -
Sun, May 23, 2021
Registration closes May 20
7 participants
1 instructor
Intermediate Rock Field Trip 2
Leavenworth
Sat, Jun 5, 2021 -
Sun, Jun 6, 2021
Registration closes May 20
7 participants
1 instructor
Olympia Intermediate Hard Snow
Panorama Point
Sun, Jul 11, 2021
Registration closes Jul 9
8 participants
2 instructors
Olympia Intermediate Ice 1 Field Trip
Mount Baker Lower Coleman Seracs and Glacier
Sat, Sep 11, 2021 -
Sun, Sep 12, 2021
Registration closes Sep 9
8 participants
1 instructor
Olympia Intermediate Ice Field Trip 2
Mount Baker Lower Coleman Seracs and Glacier
Sat, Sep 25, 2021 -
Sun, Sep 26, 2021
Registration closes Sep 8
8 participants
1 instructor

Additional badges needed to graduate

Completed

Roster
Course Materials

There are no materials for this course.